Flyfishers

Spass

I’m new to my Sprinter van but not to flyfishing. After many summers of fishing and camping in Montana and Idaho this will be my first year doing it in a van. I would love to share ideas with other fly fishers for setting up the van for a fishing trip. I just put a rod rack in mine if anyone would like to see it I will post a pic. Tight lines...

Louie_B

I'm just finishing my build and space for my fly gear is definitely on this list.

Anyone ever mount a rod tube on the side? Putting it on the roof seems like it would be hard to get rods in and out.

Spass

I'm just finishing my build and space for my fly gear is definitely on this list.

Anyone ever mount a rod tube on the side? Putting it on the roof seems like it would be hard to get rods in and out.
I agree, putting rods on the roof is out of the question. I personally like rods inside the vehicle for protection And I don’t like exterior rod vaults either. i came up with this idea this weekend. I bought the thing with the idea of attaching it to the l track just below the ceiling. However, it wasn’t long enough to span across. So I attached it to the wall. I like it better because the rods are out of the way. I can lay a 13ft fully rigged Spey rod on the floor. These are 9 ft trout rods. 07110836-C622-4627-9B5F-5B732DDBE70C.jpeg

Louie_B

That's great! Unfortunately with my van layout I don't have enough continuous open area to get the rods inside - I also like to spey cast for steelhead so the long rod struggle is real!

Spass

That's great! Unfortunately with my van layout I don't have enough continuous open area to get the rods inside - I also like to spey cast for steelhead so the long rod struggle is real!