Lithium Upgrade with (630AH) Lithionics Batteries

lvuman

This last summer we camped, off-grid, in our early 2015 Unity MB for 6 weeks. We already had 500W of solar but still needed extra battery capacity for the cloudy days. Now that the weather is cooler here in Arizona, it’s a great time to upgrade to lithium. It started with a PM question to SSTraveler which led to a constant correspondence of excellent guidance, and many, many, great suggestions. So this is definitely a joint effort. We are all so fortunate to have Sandy as an anchor to this forum. Her knowledge base and willingness to help others is extraordinary!

I want to document this in detail to help cut the learning curve for others that may wish to take on this project themselves. I'm not a professional electrician. If you do this yourself, I would suggest you do your own research and have your work reviewed by a professional.

I started with a wiring diagram for my road map and updated it as I made changes. The first thing I did was remove all chassis power. I started by disconnecting the solar array. You can cover the panels, or trip the breaker to the solar charger but use a tester to confirm power is not getting to the batteries from your solar panels. Disconnect shore power, flip the generator breaker off, disable generator auto-start if installed, remove the batteries, and also disconnect the lead from the isolation solenoid under the passenger seat to the original battery compartment. It's not really that difficult to remove the seat. There are 4, 11mm bolts that attach the seat. The trick is to swivel the seat to gain better access. It will be easier to remove the isolator relay and connect the cable from the starter battery to the cable going to the DC-DC charger/MPPT discussed later.
Roadmap
Roadmap.jpg