Fuel rail pressure exceeded - error code P2047

Lambertkl

Hi, I am new to the Sprinter van community. I just bought a T1N 2005 Sprinter Van but realized there’s an issue with it. The first long trip I took I had a problem 3 hours into the trip. It occurred driving up a very steep hill, when the check engine light came on and about 10 seconds later the vehicle lost about 50% of its power.

I checked the code at my uncles shop. First we got a low pressure DTC. Then we got a “Fuel rail pressure exceeded” code P2047

The code constantly reoccurs on steep hills, then the vehicle is sent into “limp home mode” and I lose almost all my power. Once I reset the error code the power returns.

I replaced the fuel pressure sensor and it hasn’t worked. Same codes.

Cheyenne

UK 2004 T1N 313CDi
Have you checked the turbo plumbing for boost leaks, this is the most likely cause of low pressure or under pressure codes. And then random other codes get thrown as the engine goes into LHM.

Keith.

autostaretx

Erratic Member
When the Sprinter detects that it's not getting the boost it expects ... it simply stops trying
(until you turn off the engine). Next time it's willing to boost again ... until it can't.

As everyone else is saying: look for leaks.
I located mine by finding evidence of oil spray (slightly baked on) in the engine area ... and then tracing where the spray was coming from.
(if you have an MB plastic resonator between the turbo and the first fat rubber hose, a common spot is a crack under the "lid" or a poor sealing job of lid-to-body)

Others find their leaks hiding out of sight under the bends.
A truly tiny leak can be fine in "normal" conditions, but once you start getting above 25 psi MAP (manifold absolute pressure ... equivalent to 10 psi boost) those cracks can open enough for the Sprinter to notice. (mine would trigger at 27 psi).
Live-time readouts (like a ScanGauge) can let you monitor things like MAP as you drive, and reveal patterns.