Folding Bed

waverider

VS30 4x4 (Santa Cruz)
I'm wondering if anyone has ever made a folding bed similar to the mockups attached? I'm thinking of something like this for my bed setup but want to hear if others have tried anything similar with success for not?

Screen Shot 2020-07-01 at 2.56.59 PM.pngScreen Shot 2020-07-01 at 2.57.14 PM.pngScreen Shot 2020-07-01 at 2.57.27 PM.png

Last edited:

borabora

I have no experience with it. Would it work? Probably. I'd think that even with fairly thick plywood and a very heavy-duty hinge the platform would sag a bit in a v-shape which is not desirable. The entire things also looks fairly heavy and unwieldy. Which way is the sleeping direction -- sideways or lengthwise? The sag would be worse if you are sleeping lengthwise.
There are many creative and innovative platform designs out there using aluminum, steel or wood. I think one of the simplest designs just uses 1x4 wood slats. Lighter than plywood and allows your mattress to breathe. How to make a slat design removable and convenient is the trick here...
The other question is what happens to the mattress in this design? Even a thin mattress takes up a huge amount of space.

flyag1

I'm wondering if anyone has ever made a folding bed similar to the mockups attached? I'm thinking of something like this for my bed setup but want to hear if others have tried anything similar with success for not?

View attachment 145462View attachment 145463View attachment 145464
Yes I built the exact bed and it works great. I sold that Van last year so don't have current photos, but search the form for my post as I think there are photos posted here. If you can't find the photos ping me direct and I see if I can find the photos on my phone.

MTGJR1

I'm considering a similar design. To allow for use of a thinner mattress, will be experimenting with a flexible platform suspended in 8020 frame. Picture a mesh sheet suspended by elastic cord like a zero-gravity chair.

Attachments

flyag1