DEF Warning light and no momentum after filling

Sprintersaurus

My wife and I just bought a used 2014 Sprinter 170X with 58K miles on it. I got it home to Melbourne from Miami without a problem. But 2 weeks later, it starts up, but upon pressing the gas, the vehicle moves forward, but immediately loses momentum and begins creeping along at 1MPH. The dealership where we bought it told me the yellow "Engine" warning light was on because of upgraded headlights. I figured I would look into that since it sounded pretty lame. The "DEF" warning light came on during the drive from Miami, but it took me a while to figure out what it was. I only drove it a few miles (<10) during the 2 weeks before it stopped working. The Dash message reads ("Idle").

I am not a mechanic and not familiar with diesel engines, but I got some DEF fluid and put a gallon in the filler and it was full. That surprised me, because I expected it to be empty and thought that filling it up would fix the problem. I would like to try to resolve this myself. Any ideas on where to look for answers? Should I drain the DEF tank? Is that something I can do at home?

Sprintersaurus

Okay. Finally found the sensor attached to the front of the Air intake under the hood. Thanks YouTube!!
I ordered a new sensor, but still do not know if this will work or not. Any suggestions. ( I feel like I am talking to myself so far! : )

Hooligan2

Probably need a Mercedes or Freightliner Sprinter shop to read the codes... Sounds like you are in "limp" mode, can have a number of causes, engine systems or DEF. Usually too many possibilities to just guess at cause or parts.. requires a MB capable scanner. Check engine light can also have many causes. Your 2014 Owners manual is available here. 2014 Sprinter

sailquik

Sprintersauras,
Is your Sprinter a 4 cylinder (OM-651 + 7G-Tronic transmission) or a V6 (OM-642 + 5G-Tronic/NAG-1 transmission).