Steering violent kicking!!

Diazalon

Hello!

I have a 2001 Mercedes Sprinter 211 CDI MWB, right-hand drive, and I've been working on the steering rack for a few months now. I'm a self-taught, DIY guy when it comes to mechanics, but after the van failed its MoT due, in part, to a leak in the steering rack, I decided to try to fix it myself. I've got as far as finding the leak that needed repairing (in one of the fluid pipes running along the length of the rack between the rack and the chassis), replacing the part and reinstalling the rack, topping up the fluid and bleeding the system by turning from lock to lock with the engine off.

When I turn on the engine, however, the steering wheel (and whole system) starts to buck back and forth, quickly and violently as soon as I try and turn the wheel even slightly. It then just continues to sit there kicking back and forth in the same motion until I turn the engine off.

On inspection after, there is then a lot of resistance in the system when I try and turn, sometimes resisting so hard I have to counter-turn a little to be able to continue the rotation.

This led me to believe that there are air bubbles trapped in the system. There is a sound like bubbles of air are being drawn into or through the rack at pressure as I turn the wheel from lock to lock, approx one rotation away from full right lock, even when the wheel is turned with the engine off. It's a sucking sound, similar to the sound liquid makes in your mouth if you swish it around.

I can sit there and turn from lock to lock and it seems to get better as the air is pushed through and out of the system somehow, but as soon as I turn the engine on, the kick back and forth returns as soon as I try to move the wheel, in either direction.