Weekender 4WD Crew Build for family

RVBarry

2023 AWD 170 DIY CamperVan
Ugh... This is bad news. I was just trying to solve this problem myself and I'm no pro audio installer. I was thinking I could run the wires for rear speakers from the center channel that I plan to disconnect. Any reason that won't work?
Hi,
1. Won't get a stereo signal that way, in the rear.
2. Two (or more) speakers in parallel would lower the impedance, increasing the load on the head unit/amp.
Wiring in series would be safer but if the impedance is too high, the rear volume would be reduced.

Note some sprinters have optional rear speaker prewiring under the driver's seat.

erik.wahlstrom

The approach I took, and others is to use the front R&L spreaders as the only high level inputs. I split these wires and ran them into a small amp. This way there is a full spectrum stereo signal pumped to both the front and the rear.

The amp is powered aux battery. Fader controls don’t work, but balance does. You can also put a DSP Inline to improve the signal. You can use the amp gain as a set it and forget it poor man’s fader

I’ve never done a stereo before so it can’t be that hard.

Bonus: There are some amps (marine ones) that have built in BT streaming. With the amp on the house battery you can stream forever without the key on.

Esses

Hi,
1. Won't get a stereo signal that way, in the rear.
2. Two (or more) speakers in parallel would lower the impedance, increasing the load on the head unit/amp.
Wiring in series would be safer but if the impedance is too high, the rear volume would be reduced.

Note some sprinters have optional rear speaker prewiring under the driver's seat.
Thanks for responding.

Well, that's a bummer. I was hoping it was wired like this guy explains...

He says the speaker wire colors for the center speaker are:
  • Left + Brown/Purple
  • Left – Brown/Green
  • Right + Brown/Orange
  • Right – Brown/Blue