question about front crankshaft seal leaking and dealer issues

Hi. Have a 2006 T1N Dodge 3500, 2.7L, I5, OM647 turbo diesel motor.

I viewed the camera myself today at an independent MB specialty garage that showed the crankshaft seal leaking (90% probability) - nasty little pressure leak.

I bought this Sprinter 11/15/17 from a fellow who recently had his MB dealer replace the "shock absorber" (aka crank pulley) MB 647 030 01 03 on 10/1/17. Just before I closed on it, the seller also replaced the serp belt.

I had the same MB do a pre-purchase inspection, and it was not leaking, which I assume to be correct. The seller only drove it about 350 miles between replacing the pulley and selling it to me. I noticed the leak in early January, after driving it about 1,500 miles, and I'm about 1,500 miles away from the MB that did the work.

Here is the issue and I'm no mechanic, but I read what I believe to be the correct service manual, and starting on page 9-53 under engine, it clearly says "(7) Replace front crankshaft seal" and in bold: "NOTE: Front crankshaft seal must be replaced before installing the belt pulley/vibration damper."

I don't know why yet, but the MB elected NOT to replace the seal, and now I'm sitting on a nasty leak as a result of what appears to me to be a simple matter of negligence. But for their inaction of replacing the seal, I would have no leak. I just seems this way to me.

I'm getting another "diagnosis" from a MB where I live, because the MB that did the work (1,500 miles from me) said they would honor their 2 year parts/labor warranty at any MB dealer. I have not informed the MB that did the work that I believe they were negligent in not replacing the part required by the service manual. I want to get MB where I live to confirm the leak diagnosis, before approaching the MB dealer 1,500 miles away to reimburse me (or my local MB dealer). I just want it fixed.