LHM max 5-10 mph

secondlifeart

I'm new to this and don't want to pay for something I don't need.
My problem: when I turned my 2005 2500 on the other day it started fine, but after I put it into gear it would not go over 5-10 mph unless I fluttered the gas pedal. In park I could only rev it up to about 2000 rpm's. It's at the dealer now and this is what they want to replace:
MAF sensor. $650
1 glow plug & module. $400.
Serpentine belt. $210

Here are the codes from the dodge dealer

Reason for replacing maf sensor -
CODE # 2355 –EGR FLOW TOO LOW

Reason for glow plug & module replacement -
CODE# 2133 –GLOW PLUG #1 SHORT TO VOLTAGE,
CODE # 1482- GLOW PLUG EXCESSIVE CURRENT

I did replace the turbo booster in July 10'& 12' and the upper intercooler hose in Aug. 2012 (due to bad hose) and have had no problems with that, that I know of. Also from past experiences with the turbo resonator/booster, I never went into LHM.

I've read up on glow plugs and it seems that living and only using the sprinter in a warm climate it shouldn't be a problem NOT to replace the 1 glow plug. I don't want the expense if it's broken off in the head. Is this correct or not. I'm at 130k miles.

From reading the posts here it seems that a lot can cause this LHM and just replacing the MAF sensor may not solve the issue. Any help with this would be great.

Last edited:

First let me extend you a hale and hearty welcome to the forum. welcome2.gif

I'm new to this and don't want to pay for something I don't need.
I don't blame you at all for that. I'll be honest here though. I have put off answering your post in hopes that someone else would pick it up. I'm a little vague on some of your comments.

My problem: when I turned my 2005 2500 on the other day it started fine, but after I put it into gear it would not go over 5-10 mph unless I fluttered the gas pedal. In park I could only rev it up to about 2000 rpm's. It's at the dealer now and this is what they want to replace: