Newbie Here-- Some basic questions!

samhouston

Hi all,

New to the forum and have just been introduced to the world of Sprinters. Thinking of taking an extended, slow road trip this spring (Jan-June) around 10k miles.

I've always been interested in well designed, small spaces and I have my mind's eye firmly set on doing this in a Sprinter at the moment. At present I have no vehicle to speak of, but have about a $10k budget to work with.

I've been poking around craigslist a bit and found this guy has a 2004 118" (am I using the lingo correctly here??) with 183k miles sitting on it. The vehicle itself is in my price range ($7.2k) with a bit of room to do some conversion/ tinkering.

http://knoxville.craigslist.org/cto/3315020542.html

Full disclosure: I know you can't evaluate this vehicle via the internet, but what are gut reactions here? What kind of things should I be concerned with when I go take a look at the van? He told me it was previously used by FedEx for the beginning of it's life... is this generally a good thing in terms of service/ upkeep?

I honestly know very little about cars, but am here to learn and hope that you can at least point me in the correct direction.

Should I be worried about traveling cross country in a van with this kind of mileage already on it?

Perhaps I am barking up the wrong tree... Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Last edited:

jmoller99

Own a DAD ODB2 Unit.
If it has been maintained using quality parts and the correct fluids, it will likely be a solid vehicle.
If not, it could have a lot of problems (just like any vehicle that was not taken care of).

GaryJ

Here since 2006
It looks like a 140" wheelbase to me, not 118" from the pictures. It could be priced right if the maintenance was done correctly. Any more history?

Gary

samhouston

At this point all I know is that it was formerly a FedEx unit.