Need advice ASAP - should I buy 2002 FL sprinter (cargo)?

LVTXartist

I'm new to the Sprinter world so any help you can give right away would be greatly appreciated. I just went and looked at a 2002 freightliner sprinter today. Yes, I'd love a new one, but simply don't have the money. My past vehicles have been a ford e250 cargo van and a GMC 3500 box truck (awesome truck!) Only problem with the box truck is having to go through the DOT weigh stations. I travel cross country and am carrying art for sale at art festivals. I'm also a woman traveling alone and am concerned about breakdown issues and finding available, knowledgeable mechanics if I do.

Here's the Sprinter info:
2002 freightliner
2500 high roof, shorter wheel base
Transmission replaced at 175,000 miles
Odometer: 206,774
Asking price: $8200

The owner got a pre sale inspection last week which showed the following:

- "AC needs service"
the blower worked fine, although didn't seem to blow as hard as my other vehicles, and it
seemed to need coolant. Wondering if shooting a can in there would work.)

- "Found turbo leaking oil"
I have no clue here. I looked under vehicle to see if any other fluids were leaking and saw
nothing.

- "License plate lights are out"
Wish they had mentioned if it was a bulb, fuse or other type of issue

- "Has idle surge - suggest further inspection"
I did not detect this at all on my extended test drive and 20 minute idle in parking lot.

- "AC air box has been duct taped"
Sounds weird, I know. Previous owner was going to convert the van into an RV. I suspect
from what I saw that a little plastic clasp broke off in one spot and he taped in the area. Other
brackets were in place.

The guy who is selling it bought it to move here from another state and to use it while he and his girlfriend went around buying furniture for their new home. He says he loves it, but sees no need to keep it.

Here's what scares me:
(1) all the Internet horror stories.