Oil change gone awry

sprinterPaul

Simple job, right? I've been changing my own oil for 60 years, but because this was going it the first time for a Sprinter I thought I'd check here first. GLAD I DID!! I think I could have screwed it up.
Norm
Going to check before changing trans fluid too.

The transmission is significantly more complicated than changing oil. Definitely in the realm of diy. But your checklist is much longer. I have the 7 speed. The 5 may be easier.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lindenengineering

The transmission is significantly more complicated than changing oil. Definitely in the realm of diy. But your checklist is much longer. I have the 7 speed. The 5 may be easier.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes with a 7 speeder you need a special pump injection tool!
MB has joined the gang!
Just like ZF,& Fords & Chevs etc, plus scan tool..Mustn't forget a scan tool.
Only Toyota/Lexus still retains the ubiquitous level plug!
Just like 60 years ago really when as a 9 year old I checked the gearbox oil level in a 1936 Hillman Minx in my dad's shop. And that was with a 3/8th Whitworth spanner!:laughing:
All gone now!
Its called progress and DIY'rs are nowadays tolerated--just!

Dennis

Ldfeat

Steps I took:

1. Removed drain plug over a big bucket.

2. Removed oil filter with special to sprinter wrench,

3. Let oil drain overnight and replaced drain plug with new crush washer.

4. Replaced the tiny "O" ring and the large "O" ring on the filter housing. Inserted the new "MANN FILTER no. HU821x" (made in Bosnia and Herzegovina) into the housing. Inserted the combo unit into the housing base and screwed down, no problem. put filter wrench on and snugged it up, replace air filter, added 12 qts. of oil and closed the hood. Did not try it at that time.