How fast should my sprinter go ?

ctp89

I have a 1999 310d lwb hi top it seems to struggle to get past around 60-65 even on motorways I can coax it up to about 70 going downhill

Load is minimal as it is used to transport mountain bikes around the country mostly

I serviced it about 3000 miles ago ( after buying it) and it seems to have made little difference I changed oil air and fuel filters

Is there anything I should look for that would be bringing the power down or is it normal?

Thanks
Charles

ctp89

You able to edit your post, for up to 24hrs.

It could have the speed limiter option, assuming it was available for your model in 1999.
Cheers I will keep that in mind, I will have a look and see if there is an option for a limiter on it.

Nelsonsprinter, I had that thought myself but I thought I would ask as it seems a little slow.

pgr

I had an '84 209d that would certainly go 75 mph all day long (even if it was a dog)!

shortshort

Dis member
How so ? I'm still pretty new to the mercedes tricks and methods

The only digital part of the dash is the odo so there is no computer I can see
If the van has a diagnostic port they sell devices to read the various sensors. Like boost pressure.

ctp89

Highly doubtfully that this vehicle has an obd port much less a turbo!
It has a turbo and I think from what I have read it has an older type fitting for a diagnostic machine ( obviously due to the age) it looks like a round port instead of the more modern "scart" shape I can't look at it for a week or so as I am around 2000 miles away with work

I don't expect as much info as you get from a modern car/computer but it should throw a few codes my way if there's something up

sailquik

ctp89,
There are adapters available that will convert the newer OBD-II connector to the older round OBD connector.
Several members in AUZ/NZ and the UK have used them successfully.
If you are thinking of buying the Scan Gauge II (or similar) as a code reader, to scan you older Sprinter for