Some info on 2020 MBUX Speaker Upgrades

sanomechanic

Yeah, weird that the connectors seem so different between the two to me.
I'm sure it has a lot to do with what features van is equipped with. Different harnesses for different applications.. Satellite radio, lane keep assist, parking sensors, high line color display, ect. The 7 inch and 10 inch screens are quite a bit different too.

sanomechanic

Curious as to why you went with the FIX 86 and not the FIX 82.
Because I intend to activate fader to have front and rear controls on MBUX. That way the FIX 86 can process 4 channels and sub separately. So for not I have the speaker wires split between the 4 channels.

Ron565

Hi , I’m a newbie and I have a question regarding the center speaker ( you know the LOUD one). I have a 2020 mbux 10” And I just upgraded my speakers 6.5 Hertz . Had to unplug the center speaker. Question, from the center speaker there are 2 pair of wires plugged into the one speaker. I’m assuming one pair are for the speakers what are the pair for? Thanks, Ron

sanomechanic

The SOS emergency system. If you unplug the SOS wires, the system will throw an error on the MBUX screen and your SOS system will be disabled.
I often wonder what those krauts were smoking when the designed that audio blunder. They obviously get drunk or stoned and participate in tone deaf karaoke.

Last edited:

Jackm

I am of the mindset that Ms MBUX needs to be turned off. Lots of reasons but I have found that my cell phone and Bluetooth speakers suit me best at camp time.

I'm using the Sony party speaker and I thought the lights were the corniest thing ever. You can turn them off but for some reason chicks dig it, whodathunkit. Charges on USBC cable. Can have multiple speakers. Use inside the van or in a campground.