T1/TN 4x4 Conversion

Alwin

Hi guys,

I've got a lead on a 1991 T1/TN van that has been converted from RWD to 4x4, it's an old firetruck. I hope this is the right section on this forum for this type of vehicle.. since I'm new to Mercedes and kinda confused with the model indications.

It is the 310 model with the 2.3L 105HP petrol engine, 5 speed manual transmission. Most likely converted by Oberaigner.

It's very hard to find any information on these vehicle with these conversions, so I'm after any information you would have and you're willing to to share. Specifically the 4x4 system, and particularly the front left drive axle.

Cheers!

Last edited:

AdrianD

I imagine the people who converted it used readily available parts from a Sprinter which came as 4x4 from the factory. If that's the case, then ebay.de and Google Translate will be your best tools when searching for parts.

Eric Experience

Alwin.
If you can post pictures of the transfer case and front diff then we will be able to answer all your questions. Eric.

Alwin

@Midwestdrifter: It's a rare beast for sure, that's how I'm so excited!
Who do you mean with te UK/English guys? Specifically people from there or another another forum?

I've seen that project on the expeditionportal.com, I'll shoot him a message!

@AdrianD: These were converted by companies cooperating with Mercedes, "officially" so to say, with warranty and everything. Done before the first Sprinter 4x4 came as an 4wd out of the factory, they used G-wagon parts.

@Eric_Experience: I don't have these pictures (yet), but might be able to get them. The story is rather comprehensive, I don't own the vehicle (yet) and I don't have access to it, but I might be able to get some pictures of the guy selling.

Eric Experience

Alwin.
That is conversion that I have not seen before, the drive to the front diff is on the opposite side to normal sprinters but the same as a Gwagon. Eric.

Alwin

Alwin.