P2197 dtc on the cdi module

Mowen632

Got a check engine light today accelerate from a stop light. The van seemed to hesitate a little bit. It was accompanied by codes 2016 and 2511. After clearing the codes and taking it for a short drive 2197 has returned but the others have not.

Any idea on where to start on troubleshooting this? I'm new to sprinters

grumpy-old-van

A little bit Oooh Errrr
P2197 o2 Sensor Signal Biased/Stuck Lean
thats a generic OBD interprtation, take it with a pinch of salt but should be 02
more than likely failed o2 sensor

Mowen632

From what I read in the sprinter error coffee manual it was something more ominous like a ecm thermal overload

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

Midwestdrifter

Engineer In Residence
What reader/tool did you use to get this code? It is probably accurate (we would need the subcode to be precise). Also, diesels are not always 100% OBDII compliant, so the code details for some systems don't match the generic definitions.

P2197 has two sub codes

2197 8 Fuel management valve (Y93) CDI [ECM] control unit (A94) thermal overload
2197 4 Fuel management valve (Y93) Open circuit

The other codes

2016 1 Rail pressure monitoring. Fuel flow was below the specified minimum quantity.

2511 1 Exhaust gas recirculation positloner Short circuit to ground(-) (Y85)
2511 2 Exhaust gas recirculation positioner Short circuit to ground(-)

Based on your other codes you have a harness problem common to the EGR and fuel management valve. I am not sure if the fuel management valve is the rail solenoid, or the fuel pump quantity valve. Loof for Y93 in the wiring diagrams. The thermal overload reference (if that is the subcode) means that the fuel management valve control line is drawing too much current, so the ECM has stopped supplying ground/power to it. The ECM is internally protected against most short circuit situations. These Bosch ECMs are very robust.

SneakyAnarchistVanCamper

Reading till my eyesbleed