Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > Sprinter-Based RV's & Conversions > Sprinter RV's & Conversions Talk

Sprinter RV's & Conversions Talk Common features found in Sprinter RV's and Conversions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2017, 11:19 PM   #1
pointsunknown
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Pacific Wonderland
Posts: 22
Thanks: 8
Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
Default Espar (Eberspacher) D2 "No Signal" After running for hours

Hi All -

I am having a problem I can't seem to fix on my espar D2 heater with easystart timer. The heater starts up and runs without a hitch. Then after about 5-6 hours of run time it turns itself off with the error "No Signal" displayed on the controller. I can turn the controller on and off and it maintains 'no signal'. But if I pull the fuse on the controller and then restart it it immediately starts up and will run again for 5-6 hours without a problem.

In previous winters, I was getting random errors when it was really cold and the heater was running on turbo mode for long periods of the time. It would kick off with error codes relating to fuel. I thought this might be in relation to my fuel intake routing or altitude so I changed the routing and installed the high altitude sensor into the mix (since the errors only happened when it was really cold outside and I was above 6,000 feet).

Since this fix I haven't gotten any more recorded errors, but I have repeatedly gotten the "No Signal" error. And it really is like clockwork after 5 or 6 hours of usage that it shuts itself down. Every night around 3 or 4 am when we are camping it turns off. I wake up with cold toes, reset the van power (essentially hard restarting the heater) and it turns right back on again and runs just fine till morning.

I've included a couple pictures of the wiring harnesses, for reference.

Thoughts?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20170128_121106880.jpg (79.0 KB, 184 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20170201_171225879.jpg (67.3 KB, 178 views)
pointsunknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 12:14 AM   #2
sprint2freedom
2008 NCV3 170ext
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 563
Thanked 543 Times in 359 Posts
Default Re: Espar (Eberspacher) D2 "No Signal" After running for hours

Have you played around with the diagnostics?

http://www.eberspaecher.com/en/downl...54_EN_0913.pdf

The "Workshop menu" is described on pages 19-22 for EasyStart Timer / Remote+, and pages 22-23 for EasyStart Select.
sprint2freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 12:18 AM   #3
sprint2freedom
2008 NCV3 170ext
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 563
Thanked 543 Times in 359 Posts
Default Re: Espar (Eberspacher) D2 "No Signal" After running for hours

Fault codes are listed on this site:
http://www.letonkinoisvarnish.uk/Fault_codes.html

Alternate reference:
https://www.pfjones.co.uk/advice-cen...ult-codes.html
https://www.pfjones.co.uk/advice-cen...ing-guide.html
sprint2freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 12:23 AM   #4
sprint2freedom
2008 NCV3 170ext
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 563
Thanked 543 Times in 359 Posts
Default Re: Espar (Eberspacher) D2 "No Signal" After running for hours

Related thread:
https://sprinter-source.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=44592
Quote:
I was getting NO SIGNAL Codes as well somewhat often and after talking with Espar Canada, realized I had two "extra" wires connected in between the D2 harness and controller. I clipped them and no codes since.
Maybe re-check your wiring?

Edit: I'm looking at the schematic I drew up for my install and I specifically noted that the yellow wire and whrd wire from the 16-pin connector were left unconnected. It looks to be connected at both sides in your photos. I have the EasyStart Select, but the altitude sensor has 3 wires in (rd/bn/buwh) and 3 wires out (rd/bn/buwh), the EasyStart controller has 3 wires in (rd/bn/buwh), and there are three wires (gyrd/bnwh/gy) going to the external temp sensor.

Last edited by sprint2freedom; 02-27-2017 at 12:31 AM.
sprint2freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sprint2freedom For This Useful Post:
pointsunknown (02-27-2017)
Old 02-27-2017, 01:59 AM   #5
pointsunknown
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Pacific Wonderland
Posts: 22
Thanks: 8
Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Espar (Eberspacher) D2 "No Signal" After running for hours

Great! Thanks for the quick replies folks. Based on what I am reading it sounds like the yellow wire I have connected is in error. I will cut it and see if that solves the problem, then report back.

I had been reviewing the fault codes, but the 'no signal' error was actually not throwing any fault codes on the diagnostic screen.

Thanks again!
pointsunknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 04:11 AM   #6
highsierrabear
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 313
Thanks: 277
Thanked 221 Times in 112 Posts
Default Re: Espar (Eberspacher) D2 "No Signal" After running for hours

Maybe check your Time out settings? Just something else to investigate. I wrote about it a bit on my blog in the Espar installation. Your Easy Start timer settings may be different.
__________________
2014 170WB DIY conversion. Build started July 2016- finish? LOL.

Outdoor and Van blog- http://radvanadventures.com
Instagram- radvanadventures (vanlife, mountain life, bikes, surf, outdoor porn, cute dog)
highsierrabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 07:51 AM   #7
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Zealand - Big Blue Van
Posts: 4,952
Thanks: 990
Thanked 3,559 Times in 2,114 Posts
Default Re: Espar (Eberspacher) D2 "No Signal" After running for hours

Any resolution? Mine started doing this randomly, and now, after pulling the fuse the controller won't recognize the heater. Applying 12v to the switch on signal turns the espar fan on. So the ECU is working, at least partially.
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 101,000 118,XXX 137,078 150,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 05:30 PM   #8
sprint2freedom
2008 NCV3 170ext
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 563
Thanked 543 Times in 359 Posts
Default Re: Espar (Eberspacher) D2 "No Signal" After running for hours

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midwestdrifter View Post
Any resolution? Mine started doing this randomly, and now, after pulling the fuse the controller won't recognize the heater. Applying 12v to the switch on signal turns the espar fan on. So the ECU is working, at least partially.
Cut.. the yellow.. wire!



Based on the blog entry here, that seems like it may have been resolved the issue, but OP ought to confirm.

Quote:
Note: I had the yellow wire connected through the high altitude sensor initially, this appears to be incorrect. The heater was working, but I was getting occasional ‘no signal’ errors. Will report back once this new wiring has been tested out more significantly. However, per the wiring diagram to the right, DO NOT CONNECT THE YELLOW WIRE.
sprint2freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2017, 03:09 AM   #9
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Zealand - Big Blue Van
Posts: 4,952
Thanks: 990
Thanked 3,559 Times in 2,114 Posts
Default Re: Espar (Eberspacher) D2 "No Signal" After running for hours

I never had the yellow wire connected, so that's a no go for me.

After a bit of testing and some research, I believe my D2 has a faulty ECU. I can hear the ECU come out of sleep mode (relay clicks) when I power up the Easystart timer, but it doesn't communicate. The second heater comm line does the same thing.

I will connect my D5 heater up just to make sure the easystart is not faulty. After some reading I have found that some heaters will overheat the control unit, but not throw a fault code. Ambient temp never seemed to have any effect on the no signal errors in my case, so I may have had a faulty ECU from the start, and it just finally bit the dust.

Just to make sure, I am going to modify the ducting to reduce any flow restriction on the heating air outlet.

A new ECU is around 250$ I think. Of course getting one in Australia would be challenging, as alll Espar stuff is through Dometic, and they are basically crap for support.
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 101,000 118,XXX 137,078 150,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 08:11 AM   #10
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Zealand - Big Blue Van
Posts: 4,952
Thanks: 990
Thanked 3,559 Times in 2,114 Posts
Default Re: Espar (Eberspacher) D2 "No Signal" After running for hours

I think I fixed it. Long story short, the one wire bus espar uses for digital communication is sensitive to high resistance connections. The main plug for the easy start timer was the culprit. I will be replacing it in the near future.

Fyi, the EST WILL REPORT no signal any time the primary heater can't be found, even if the secondary heater is working fine. Go figure...
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 101,000 118,XXX 137,078 150,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Midwestdrifter For This Useful Post:
Jimoc (10-02-2017)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.