Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > General Forums > Pictures & Videos

Pictures & Videos Sprinter Pictures & Videos


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2006, 04:35 PM   #1
sikwan
06 T1N Can
 
sikwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,691
Thanks: 924
Thanked 1,809 Times in 832 Posts
Default How to Upload Pictures

When posting a message, you can either click on the paperclick (see red arrow below) or...
paperclip.png


...you can click on the Manage Attachments button near the bottom of the page.
manageattachments.png


You will see this window pop up. Be aware that some browsers will not allow pop up windows. Be sure your browser is set to allow pop up windows.

popup.PNG
At the bottom, you can see the file types and their maximum upload sizes.



Click on the Browse button and find the file that you want to upload from your computer.
There's also an option to provide the full URL path to the file that you want to upload.

Click the Upload button to upload your files.

popup2.PNG
After the files are uploaded, you can close this pop up manage attachments window.


By clicking on the paperclip icon, you can see a pull down menu of files that you have uploaded.
uploadfiles.png


Now you can do one of two things. Either click the Submit New Thread button and it will automatically attach ALL your file(s) or you can select each individual file or insert all the files using the pull down menu and add comments to each picture. Screen captures of the process continue below.



After clicking insert all, you will see the following:

files.png


Add comments either at the top or

comments.png
bottom of the attachments.

The maximum number of inline files per post is 5 - this is also the maximum number of files you can upload.

Last edited by sikwan; 05-16-2007 at 02:30 AM. Reason: attempt to make this communicate even more clearly
sikwan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to sikwan For This Useful Post:
dryerex (07-03-2015), Gereshom-01 (05-01-2018), kickbucket1 (05-08-2013), ptheland (01-03-2017), RoadToad (03-25-2019)
Old 10-29-2006, 11:58 PM   #2
Don Horner
2012 Unity IB
 
Don Horner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Okeechobee, FL
Posts: 692
Thanks: 11
Thanked 407 Times in 206 Posts
Default Re: How to Upload Pictures

Let me add just one thing. The number 1 question I have seen on other forums is, "My picture is too large; how can I resize it?"

The first answer is that many photo editing programs have a resize function. They range in price from free (Irfanview) to very expensive and complicated (Adobe Photoshop). However, for the simple purpose of resizing pictures, the best answer I have found is a free "power toy" program from Microsoft.

Here is a link to an article on how to use the resizer:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...schelman2.mspx

And, here is the link to download and install the resizer:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/d...powertoys.mspx

Scroll down; it's the 10th program listed. Once installed, it becomes resident and is always available when you right-click any image on your computer.

Of course, it only works on Windows-based computers. If you're using a Mac or a linux machine all bets are off.
__________________
...Don

Last edited by Don Horner; 10-30-2006 at 03:35 PM. Reason: typo
Don Horner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 02:10 AM   #3
Scott_Mc
Sprintering Since Aug/02
 
Scott_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Jamaica Plain, MA
Posts: 821
Thanks: 133
Thanked 104 Times in 87 Posts
Lightbulb Re: How to Upload Pictures

Good "How to" write up sikwan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don
Let me add just one thing. The number 1 question I have seen on other forums is, "My picture is too large; how can I resize it?"
Another way is maybe simpler, and it's right on the camera that you took the picture with! If you know you'll be looking to post pictures, take them at 640X 480 to begin with or choose the resize option (most cameras have this?) and you'll actually get two of the same picture when you download the memory card.

I use an older version of Adobe Photo Deluxe Business Edition. A little tedious to resize multipe photos but, it does give you many options of resizing, trimming, blanking out license plates, adding text, yada, yada...
__________________
I still like...(used to love)my T1N
My Ride: Factory Order, Early`03 Freightliner version 140" SHC NO WINDOW Cargo version in Blue-Black
presently @ 170,000 miles...
RUNS like 25,000 miles....LOOKS like 1/2 a milllion...
Thank you Mercedes for the substandard paint prep & corrosion prevention throughout.
My '99 Audi Avant, 4 years older and 15K more miles...ZERO RUST.... You got me once!

Last edited by Scott_Mc; 04-25-2007 at 11:33 AM.
Scott_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scott_Mc For This Useful Post:
CJPJ (03-20-2012)
Old 03-26-2007, 04:46 PM   #4
Dave C.
2005 MB Crusier
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington Illinois
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: How to Upload Pictures

Scott If you want an easier photo processor try Picasa2. It's free from Google ( http://picasa.google.com/ ) Works really well for most adjustments needed to spruce up your pictures and has resizer for e mailing.

Dave C.
Dave C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 03:19 PM   #5
bikerjoe
 
bikerjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, KY, USA
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: How to Upload Pictures

I place my photos at Photobucket.com and use alink to point to them. I *think* that reduces the bandwidth I use through the Sprinter forum ... doesn't it?
__________________
2004 2500 140" wb Cab & Chassis, converted to a "FrankenSprinter!"
bikerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 03:34 PM   #6
sikwan
06 T1N Can
 
sikwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,691
Thanks: 924
Thanked 1,809 Times in 832 Posts
Default Re: How to Upload Pictures

Quote:
Originally Posted by bikerjoe View Post
I place my photos at Photobucket.com and use alink to point to them. I *think* that reduces the bandwidth I use through the Sprinter forum ... doesn't it?
Yes it certainly does.

Couple reasons that I can think we need the ability to upload pics are...

1. Sometimes pictures within threads get lost, moved, deleted, etc. if it's placed in a photobucket of some sort. It's especially important within the Write-Up and Datasbase section. This way we have more control.

2. Users don't have to do extra steps if they want to post pictures.

We don't have the bandwidth problem yet, so you're welcome to upload pictures.

Thanks for being considerate!
Seek
sikwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 01:54 AM   #7
Scott_Mc
Sprintering Since Aug/02
 
Scott_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Jamaica Plain, MA
Posts: 821
Thanks: 133
Thanked 104 Times in 87 Posts
Arrow Re: How to Upload Pictures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave C. View Post
Scott If you want an easier photo processor try Picasa2. It's free from Google ( http://picasa.google.com/ ) Works really well for most adjustments needed to spruce up your pictures and has resizer for e mailing.

Dave C.
Hi Dave, just read your response thanks to the thread "bump" from bikerjoe.
I had Picassa (1 I assume) a couple of years ago. I just did not like how it sort of owned every picture you transfered from your camera card etc. Proprietary (right term?) programs irritate me. I did love the "batch" resize feature though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sikwan
We don't have the bandwidth problem yet, so you're welcome to upload pictures.
That's surprising given all the gum-flapping from that Aussie

But seriously, a question: Does quoting a post use more bandwidth?
__________________
I still like...(used to love)my T1N
My Ride: Factory Order, Early`03 Freightliner version 140" SHC NO WINDOW Cargo version in Blue-Black
presently @ 170,000 miles...
RUNS like 25,000 miles....LOOKS like 1/2 a milllion...
Thank you Mercedes for the substandard paint prep & corrosion prevention throughout.
My '99 Audi Avant, 4 years older and 15K more miles...ZERO RUST.... You got me once!
Scott_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 06:41 PM   #8
sikwan
06 T1N Can
 
sikwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,691
Thanks: 924
Thanked 1,809 Times in 832 Posts
Default Re: How to Upload Pictures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_Mc View Post
That's surprising given all the gum-flapping from that Aussie


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_Mc View Post
But seriously, a question: Does quoting a post use more bandwidth?
It does, but not as much as pictures and videos. It's very little though.

Seek
sikwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 05:10 PM   #9
brucetheparishiltonfan
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Saline, Michigan USA
Posts: 112
Thanks: 14
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: How to Upload Pictures

I tried to upload a picture. It was too big so I edited it (in paint), and its 39k. BUT, when I try to upload it, I get:

Roof01.JPG:
The Dimension limits for this filetype are 900 x 0. We were unable to resize your file so you will need to do so manually and upload it again. Your file is currently 1296 x 972.

I don't know what "dmiension limits" are. When I edit it in paint, and click "attributes", it says:

Size on disk: 39,833
Resolution: 96X96 dots per inch
Width: 34.29 Heigth: 25.71

WTF?

Thanks
__________________
2002 Freightliner 158" 2500 High roof Sprinter, 399,974 miles
2014 mb M2CA170E high roof 4 cylinder, 1050 miles
brucetheparishiltonfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brucetheparishiltonfan For This Useful Post:
Lighthawk (11-27-2016)
Old 11-10-2009, 11:16 PM   #10
sikwan
06 T1N Can
 
sikwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,691
Thanks: 924
Thanked 1,809 Times in 832 Posts
Default Re: How to Upload Pictures

Quote:
Originally Posted by brucetheparishiltonfan View Post
Your file is currently 1296 x 972.
Let's say you're in Paint. Click on Image, Attributes (Cntrl-E). With your file, it should read Width=1296 and Height=972.

The forum is set to a Maximum width of 900 pixels. To decrease your 1296 value or any value, divide the number by 900. For example, 900 / 1296 = 0.694 (0.694 * 100 = 69.4%). Go back to Paint and click on Image, Stretch/Skew (Cntrl-W). In BOTH the Horizontal & Vertical boxes, enter 69. Hit OK or Return. Paint will resize your image to some 900 width value or lower.
sikwan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sikwan For This Useful Post:
brucetheparishiltonfan (11-11-2009)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.