should I buy this sprinter

familyman907

2004 long and tall T1N
PLEASE HELP!!!!! should I buy this sprinter

:thinking:Hi there. This is my first time on the forum as a member, although I have been following the for months. I'm looking to buy a sprinter passenger van to replace a 15 passenger Ford with a v10. I've been looking at a 2004 van with about 196, 000 miles. From all of my research I think I've landed on a T1N. This particular van seems to be in good shape and I had an inspection performed by a sprinter shop in Las Vegas that came back clear of any major issues. They did say that the turbo is starting to leak a bit of oil, and recommended that I do a compression check to make sure that its not damaging the engine in any way. The owner of the van has the computer diagnostic tools for the van and said he could do a compression test for me and save me the extra $150.00. He got back to me today and gave me the results. They are as follows.

Cylinder RPM 1 - 219
Cylinder RPM 2 - 0
Cylinder RPM 3 - 226
Cylinder RPM 4 - 226
Cylinder RPM 5 - 223

First off, these numbers seemed a bit low for a diesel, but I'm not sure exactly what the parameters are for these engines. These results were with the engine at operating temperature.
Secondly, the fact that there is no data for cylinder no. 2 terrifies me. I realize that it probably is a glitch in the system, since an engine completely missing a cylinder would have come out in the initial mechanic inspection.
My question is are those numbers too low for that engine with those miles? Should I run for the hills and keep looking? I really want this van, but I live 5000 miles away in alaska, and don't want to buy a problem. I would really appreciate any input you guys have. Its also an option to take it back and get a compression test done by the mechanic. I don't have any idea how accurate the computer test is and if it can be trusted. Thanks for reading. Hope this makes sense.

Last edited:

familyman907