Brakes give out

eggroll

I have a 2006 Sprinter Legend 2500 with the Great West Van RV package that I use to pull/launch a 20' pontoon (~3500 lbs). On three occassions, but not every time I've done it, I've had the brakes give out when backing down a ramp to launch the boat. I had my foot jammed to the floor on the brake but I was still rolling backward and could feel what I think were the anti-lock brakes pulsing. Needless to say this scared the crap out of me when it happened so I've been hesitant to launch since then. Granted the ramp has a decent decline compared to others I've used but certainly nothing unreasonable.

I brought the van into an authorized dealer to check the brakes and after charging me $145 they said everything was fine and quoted from the service ticket - "PERFORM REAR SERVICE; LININGS GOOD; HOLD ON RAMP ONLY CAPABLE TO 700 LBS TOTAL". Even though I'm not a mechanic I know that my vehicle has a 5000 lb towing capacity so I lost all confidence in this dealer when they gave me their assessment.

Before I bring the van to a different authorized dealer I was wondering if anyone else has had this problem or has any information that I might be able to give the service department about what might be wrong.

thanks,
robin

BaywoodBill

pre-Yuppiedom
Hi eggroll,

No, I've had no such problem. Don't have any backing/with trailer/boat experience in the Sprinter. However, I didn't want to leave your post with no sort of answer, so here it is.

Were you ever able to make it stop while backing on that ramp? How did you recover from the situation?

mgjessop