Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > T1N Sprinters > T1N Talk

T1N Talk General Discussions related to T1N Sprinters.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2014, 11:21 PM   #1
bryanfowler
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chattanooga TN
Posts: 44
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default P0740 code = need new transmission?

I have a 2005, 2500, 150WB sprinter. 344K miles (New transmission at 300K. Previous owner did that, I don't know much about it)

It's showing a P0740 code (Torque Conv Clutch, No RPM Drop at Lockup)
Fluid is within range, it shifts fine. I don't think it's missing a gear.

I chatted with a local transmission place, and they said it might need a new transmission, but they need to check it. They said it would be in the $2500-2800 range for a new transmission.

How can I get a 2nd opinion on this? I think if I take it to another transmission place they'll just say the same thing. (which I guess counts) but I'm hoping to pick your collective brains first.

Thanks

(sorry if this post is premature. i.e. "wait till the diag comes back")

Last edited by bryanfowler; 01-02-2014 at 11:28 PM.
bryanfowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 11:35 PM   #2
pfflyer
 
pfflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Home of the Walking Dead
Posts: 3,978
Thanks: 1,193
Thanked 1,622 Times in 1,225 Posts
Default Re: P0740 code = need new transmission?

What are your symptoms? From your post it sounds like it is operating proper and just throwing the code? Maybe an old code that needs to be cleared.

I would take it to someone with the proper scanner either freightliner or MB. Pay for an hour shop time to properly diagnose before I drop that kind of money on another rebuilt or new tranny.
pfflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 11:38 PM   #3
bryanfowler
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chattanooga TN
Posts: 44
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: P0740 code = need new transmission?

You're right. No symptoms that I can tell. A friend who owned a 2002 for 10 years drove mine this weekend and said it felt, and sounded great to him. He's not a mechanic though. And I've only had it 3 weeks and I'm a new sprinter owner. So I may be missing something.

I've cleared the code several time, but it comes back instantly.
bryanfowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 11:56 PM   #4
pfflyer
 
pfflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Home of the Walking Dead
Posts: 3,978
Thanks: 1,193
Thanked 1,622 Times in 1,225 Posts
Default Re: P0740 code = need new transmission?

I'm not a mechanic and by no means an expert either. Unless you have the proper equipment like at the dealer most codes you wont be able to clear. Most repair shops equipment wont get to the sub-codes or clear codes unless they spend $10-20k for the MB equipment. There are plenty of threads here that discuss these computers in more detail. Unless the shop repairs a lot of Mercedes they aren't going to invest in this expensive equipment and that is one reason why Mercedes are expensive to fix. Welcome to the forum by the way.
pfflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 12:02 AM   #5
bryanfowler
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chattanooga TN
Posts: 44
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: P0740 code = need new transmission?

Thanks PF. So far I've spent quite a bit of time reading all these posts. Great stuff here. I'll need ages to get through it all =)

I'll ask the transmission guy if he has the gear for reading MB codes. I thing that Diesel Plus in Ringgold might have them too.
bryanfowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 12:26 AM   #6
pfflyer
 
pfflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Home of the Walking Dead
Posts: 3,978
Thanks: 1,193
Thanked 1,622 Times in 1,225 Posts
Default Re: P0740 code = need new transmission?

He may be able to pull the P0740 code but there are sub-codes that would pin-point the problem. There is a Freightliner Sprinter shop in Chattanooga(Ringgold).

http://www.ringgold.ftlsprinterdealer.com/
pfflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 02:48 AM   #7
lindenengineering
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 12,720
Thanks: 3,133
Thanked 10,693 Times in 5,435 Posts
Default Re: P0740 code = need new transmission?

Just an overview.
The most prevalent code indicating you need a replacement transmission are concerned with mismatch of speeds. Often involved with 2 to 3 change flares (slip) of the clutches causes a mismatch. That if severe with throw a code and might even effect a limp mode or loss of drive

Equally there are some sprag (one way mechanical clutches) inside the running pack which can slip start to break up and these scatter metal inside the box. Now caution there are two types of metal; in layman terms I call them the fuzzies and the sparklies.

The fuzzies are normal amounts of fine metal particles that are to be found in ANY auto transmission over time adhering to the donut shaped magnet in the pan, and to many a DIY'r this goop is alarming. Much of it can be removed in doing thorough a service and replacing the defunct donut with a new magnet one which these days is square and looks like 5 bar gate. Cost is about $10,00.

Problem is that if you extend to service period or totally neglect it, the fuzzies also can adhere to the speed sensors located in the circuit board corrupting the speed signals and you can get similar fault codes. Some less than honest shops interpret the fuzzies as severe metal contamination and that determines a replacement posture/claim, so beware!

The Sparklies are something different! This is substantial metal particles shed off of components breaking up like a sprag clutch going south or teeth / bearing wear taking place.
Dropping the fluid and checking some in a glass jar will show if there are sparklies in suspension. Dropping the pan and examining the suction filter and the pan floor will reveal metal in abundance if its going south.

A road test can often give you some indications. Luckily here in Golden I have the front range of the Divide to punish the transmission up some steep grades. If its about to go south it will protest and sometimes stop driving. Happened to me only last week! Customer complained of loss of drive when hot.

Had to get a Landrover to drag the lame beast back to the shop during an aborted test run!

With a scanner connected in data and with an assistant reading the outputs I get it hot then use the tiptronic to shift the gears "hard" through the speeds doing power shifts on a grade. If there is going to be a shift "flare" in the making it will show up on the up shift and you will feel the clutch pack or the sprag clutch slip and this will often result in a very jerky shift or total slip condition. On this 05' Tinny were were testing the blighter held for one circuit up the mountain but took a dump on the second run. We both exclaimed there she goes Capt'n , "Bingo" found it!
Going down the grades I lost all speeds and opening the window I could hear the jingle bell rock tinkling away from underneath! There's the problem inside the running pack!

So first the unit needs a good interrogation with a scanner and a check on fluid/filter service history conditions before determining it needs a new box.

On this last case it did with 350K on it but one before with 175K needed a good service to make it run like new again.

To conclude
A good examination and service can be much cheaper than a replacement ,
Hope this has helped you,
Cheers Dennis
lindenengineering is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to lindenengineering For This Useful Post:
bryanfowler (01-03-2014), GunntuckySmooth (12-20-2015), icarus (01-03-2014), machine4you2020 (01-03-2014), mawsea (01-03-2014), pfflyer (01-03-2014), RedFord77 (01-04-2014), swami29 (06-19-2019)
Old 01-03-2014, 03:16 PM   #8
bryanfowler
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chattanooga TN
Posts: 44
Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: P0740 code = need new transmission?

Thanks again guys for the advice. Dennis, wish I was closer. =)

The local Freightliner is asking $120 to do the diagnostic. Does that sounds like a normal fee? The other local transmission shop won't charge anything for a superficial diagnostic. I'm just concerned they won't have the tools to see what's wrong. Maybe that's not giving them fair credit. Not sure.
bryanfowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 03:35 PM   #9
dickknapp
dickknapp
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 116
Thanks: 368
Thanked 43 Times in 30 Posts
Default Re: P0740 code = need new transmission?

Dennis, I'm interested in source for the new square magnet. Will do a service this spring. I too wish you were closer :-)
Dick
__________________
2006 140" hi top
dickknapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 03:45 PM   #10
pfflyer
 
pfflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Home of the Walking Dead
Posts: 3,978
Thanks: 1,193
Thanked 1,622 Times in 1,225 Posts
Default Re: P0740 code = need new transmission?

$120 sounds about right. That is for an hour so if you have any other issues get them to look at that as well. Not sure what the mileage is for transmission service but might not be a bad idea to get one done and let them analyze the fluid and shavings like Dennis said. Think transmission service is in the $200-300 range to get it done right. They should hook you up to the computer as part of this service anyway. Either way I would take it to someone equipped and experienced to look at and diagnose Sprinters. Local no charge diagnoses so far have come up with new transmission recommendation. Local shop may be cheaper than FL or MB but will they use the correct fluids and know all the ins and outs of a transmission they may have never seen before.

Last edited by pfflyer; 01-03-2014 at 03:54 PM.
pfflyer is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.