A/C removal

sleland

Hi. I'm new to the forum and sprinters as well. After reading through a lot of the threads I'm very impressed with the knowledge base here. I have been drooling over sprinters for about 2 years and finally pulled the trigger on one about 2 weeks ago. I picked up a 2008 144" high roof passenger with 39,000 miles. We are avid bike racers, and with a new baby, we thought a sprinter conversion would be the way to go. I have very specific plans for this rig and I'm not sure if the factory A/C is needed given my geographical location (sierras). A couple of questions:
1. Has anyone tried removing the massive factory A/C unit on the roof? Easy to do?
2. How big of a hole is actually in the roof once the unit is removed?
3. If the outside temp is 90 or less are a couple of fantastic fans enough to keep the interior cool? I plan on doing a full insulation job.
4. The other option would be to keep A/C. Is the factory unit better or is something like a star cool better?
Thanks

israndy

2007 LTV Serenity
I don't have one, but:

1. Has anyone tried removing the massive factory A/C unit on the roof? Easy to do?
Yes, someone has, I believe there is only a couple of holes for the coolant hoses to pass and maybe electrical.

2. How big of a hole is actually in the roof once the unit is removed?
See #1

3. If the outside temp is 90 or less are a couple of fantastic fans enough to keep the interior cool? I plan on doing a full insulation job.