Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > Sprinter-Based RV's & Conversions > Sprinter-Based RV Brands > Airstream > Sprinter Westfalia


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2014, 02:13 AM   #1
ecobon
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 26
Thanks: 21
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?

I am unsure if my remote control is working--the batteries are fine and I checked to make sure that the polarity was correct as per markings on the inside of the remote.

If I cannot get the remote operational, how can I operate the window? Would a universal remote work if it was programmed by another Westy owner?

Thanks!
ecobon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 02:50 PM   #2
OrioN
2008 2500 170" EXT
 
OrioN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 7,770
Thanks: 475
Thanked 1,867 Times in 1,382 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecobon View Post
I am unsure if my remote control is working--the batteries are fine and I checked to make sure that the polarity was correct as per markings on the inside of the remote.

If I cannot get the remote operational, how can I operate the window? Would a universal remote work if it was programmed by another Westy owner?

Thanks!
Have you checked the fuse for window?

Sent from my GT-I9100M using Tapatalk
OrioN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 03:00 PM   #3
Old Crows
Calypso 2014 View Profile
 
Old Crows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,741
Thanks: 8,966
Thanked 1,967 Times in 1,242 Posts
Default Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?

As a Master of the Obvious..... The Crow asks ...... "Ya really sure ya got the batteries inserted the right way!" Eh!?

Is the sky light locked? Jammed? Frozen shut?
__________________
"Calypso" 2014 Winnebago View Profile
"Mariah" 2010 FourWinds Ventura
"Globemaster III" 2005 Trail Lite C-17 Hybrid Travel Trailer

Old Crows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 11:37 AM   #4
discus
GA Westy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Woodstock, GA - USA
Posts: 253
Thanks: 12
Thanked 60 Times in 46 Posts
Default

I will test the universal remote and let you know.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
discus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 12:00 PM   #5
grozier
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burlington Area, Vermont
Posts: 150
Thanks: 19
Thanked 54 Times in 35 Posts
Default Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?

A good tip seen earlier on this or the Yahoo board for testing remotes is to point it at a smartphone or digital camera and film it while pressing buttons.

For IR devices like these, the camera can see the light. For RF devices, it will not work.

There are instructions in the Westfalia supplement on how to use the emergency crank if needed.

Ted
__________________
grozier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 03:59 PM   #6
discus
GA Westy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Woodstock, GA - USA
Posts: 253
Thanks: 12
Thanked 60 Times in 46 Posts
Default Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?

I tried programming my Harmony 880 remote and it does accept the code but for some reason, the unit freezes on the down button. A single tap on the up button works fine and the skylight goes all the way up. I have to experiment some more later and also try a more conventional learning remote.
discus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 02:26 PM   #7
onemanvan
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Benson Arizona
Posts: 201
Thanks: 49
Thanked 134 Times in 82 Posts
Default Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?

On the Yahoo forum a member attempted to reprogram a remote. He had the same problem with the down function. Apparently there is no work around for this issue. Some decided to install a manual switch. One of them contributed a detailed document describing the procedure. I attempted to attach it to this msg. In case that doesn't work here is a link:

https://f1.grp.yahoofs.com/v2/1HoDU0...2Brecovery.pdf
Attached Files
File Type: pdf sunroof+document+recovery.pdf (4.92 MB, 28 views)
onemanvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 09:32 AM   #8
discus
GA Westy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Woodstock, GA - USA
Posts: 253
Thanks: 12
Thanked 60 Times in 46 Posts
Default

The harmony remote issues a one second signal. So it does not work for the down button. The raw learn can handle long sequences, I was planning on Using buttons 1 to 9 to program a series of down button events of varying lengths with 9 long enough to close it completely. I will try that. I have also emailed harmony about making the down button work more like volume buttons but no response yet.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
discus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 12:06 PM   #9
skydiver007
DRB III Owner If You Need
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 548
Thanks: 39
Thanked 256 Times in 155 Posts
Default Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?

I program thousands of remotes. Here is what you do. Create a device in the harmony remote and simply learn the down button to the volume button which is a constant out while you hold it down. That should do it.

You could also get a simple universal remote at Walmart for $8 that has learning capability and simply learn the down to the volume button.
skydiver007 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to skydiver007 For This Useful Post:
discus (02-19-2014), Old Crows (02-19-2014)
Old 02-19-2014, 01:23 PM   #10
discus
GA Westy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Woodstock, GA - USA
Posts: 253
Thanks: 12
Thanked 60 Times in 46 Posts
Default Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skydiver007 View Post
I program thousands of remotes. Here is what you do. Create a device in the harmony remote and simply learn the down button to the volume button which is a constant out while you hold it down. That should do it.

You could also get a simple universal remote at Walmart for $8 that has learning capability and simply learn the down to the volume button.
I guess I haven't tried that. I did try using an old SIMA SUR-20 remote and it works just fine.
discus is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.