Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > Sprinter-Based RV's & Conversions > Sprinter RV's & Conversions Talk

Sprinter RV's & Conversions Talk Common features found in Sprinter RV's and Conversions.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2018, 03:21 PM   #1
143paul
 
143paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Denver
Posts: 37
Thanks: 32
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Default What is the best way to run a wire through the roof?

I have done a few searches without much luck, so any help is welcomed, thanks.

I am mounting a light bar on the roof, and I think the best way to run the wires will be up the B pillar and out through the roof.

For the solar, I am using the standard roof entry - https://www.amazon.com/Proline-Weath...of+cable+entry

but for the light bar, the wire harness will not work through that option.

What other great ideas have people used in the past?
143paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 04:45 PM   #2
autostaretx
Erratic Member
 
autostaretx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 18,480
Thanks: 3,226
Thanked 8,500 Times in 6,163 Posts
Default Re: What is the best way to run a wire through the roof?

What is the issue with the harness and the Proline unit (just to help us give better suggestions).

Some people have simply used conduit elbows instead of the "streamlined" (and dual-wire) Proline heads.

The up-side for that method is "only one round hole" (easy to drill)
The down-side is "kind'a ugly bent pipe sticking out of roof" appearance.

Somwhere in the infinite forum threads there's a photo or two of that style.
There are also far flatter shaped covers, too.

Be aware that the B pillar includes the seat belt retraction mechanism. Care should be taken in keeping your wires from interfering with it (and the squib explosive retractors).

--dick
__________________
2005 T1N 118" Freightliner 2500 Passenger Wagon (2.7L, 15" tires, standard (short) roof)
Get YOUR Sprinter's full configuration datacard by entering your VIN to https://www.datamb.com/
http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference <-- lots of service documentation, Thanks to Jens Moller and Arnie_Oli
((as always: this post may go through a couple of post-posting edits... so maybe give it ten minutes before commenting))
autostaretx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 04:55 PM   #3
john61ct
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1,855
Thanks: 31
Thanked 434 Times in 371 Posts
Default Re: What is the best way to run a wire through the roof?

Marine quality cable "clams", Blue Sea is good.

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/....php?p=2733393
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to john61ct For This Useful Post:
143paul (11-07-2018)
Old 11-07-2018, 05:06 PM   #4
143paul
 
143paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Denver
Posts: 37
Thanks: 32
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Default Re: What is the best way to run a wire through the roof?

Thanks guys for your help

Dick - the problem with the proline is that the light's waterproof connector will not pas through that fitting. I could cut all the wires and re connect, but I am hoping for an idea that avoids that.

John - thanks for the marine clam idea - I will check that out.
143paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 05:43 PM   #5
autostaretx
Erratic Member
 
autostaretx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 18,480
Thanks: 3,226
Thanked 8,500 Times in 6,163 Posts
Default Re: What is the best way to run a wire through the roof?

Here are a bunch of through-hull clamps and covers: https://www.fisheriessupply.com/mari...&ct=4294967100

(reached by visiting https://www.fisheriessupply.com/mari...upplies/wiring and ticking the "Cable Glands" choice in the left margin menu)

CableClam.png

--dick
p.s. if there is a marine supplies store in your area, they're a great place for hands-on puttering looking for wiring, connector, fuse block, switches, etc possibilities.
__________________
2005 T1N 118" Freightliner 2500 Passenger Wagon (2.7L, 15" tires, standard (short) roof)
Get YOUR Sprinter's full configuration datacard by entering your VIN to https://www.datamb.com/
http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference <-- lots of service documentation, Thanks to Jens Moller and Arnie_Oli
((as always: this post may go through a couple of post-posting edits... so maybe give it ten minutes before commenting))

Last edited by autostaretx; 11-07-2018 at 05:47 PM.
autostaretx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to autostaretx For This Useful Post:
143paul (11-07-2018)
Old 11-07-2018, 06:07 PM   #6
john61ct
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1,855
Thanks: 31
Thanked 434 Times in 371 Posts
Default Re: What is the best way to run a wire through the roof?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 143paul View Post
light's waterproof connector will not pas through that fitting. I could cut all the wires and re connect, but I am hoping for an idea that avoids that.
You may need a "full split" style

e.g. https://www.defender.com/product.jsp...996&id=4140088

Other terms to google

Cable Glands / Cable Bushings / Cord Grip Connectors / Strain Relief 
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to john61ct For This Useful Post:
143paul (11-07-2018)
Old 11-07-2018, 07:45 PM   #7
bobloblaw
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 224
Thanks: 10
Thanked 70 Times in 36 Posts
Default Re: What is the best way to run a wire through the roof?

Whats the best wire to run on the roof of a sprinter (through a cable clam)? Something like SOOW Cord? I need to run wire to a light bar as well and was going to use regular marine duplex cable, but it's flat and wont work with a clam
bobloblaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 09:36 PM   #8
Kevsuda
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 289
Thanks: 3
Thanked 114 Times in 93 Posts
Default Re: What is the best way to run a wire through the roof?

I've run duplex through a cable gland several times without issue. Not sure if that's the same as a clam you're talking about.

Last edited by Kevsuda; 11-07-2018 at 09:41 PM.
Kevsuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 10:30 PM   #9
autostaretx
Erratic Member
 
autostaretx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 18,480
Thanks: 3,226
Thanked 8,500 Times in 6,163 Posts
Default Re: What is the best way to run a wire through the roof?

Cable Glands don't demand "round"

CableGland2.jpg

https://www.fisheriessupply.com/scan...-seal-ds-multi
and
https://www.fisheriessupply.com/scan...-bulkhead-seal

--dick
__________________
2005 T1N 118" Freightliner 2500 Passenger Wagon (2.7L, 15" tires, standard (short) roof)
Get YOUR Sprinter's full configuration datacard by entering your VIN to https://www.datamb.com/
http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference <-- lots of service documentation, Thanks to Jens Moller and Arnie_Oli
((as always: this post may go through a couple of post-posting edits... so maybe give it ten minutes before commenting))

Last edited by autostaretx; 11-07-2018 at 11:59 PM.
autostaretx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 12:36 AM   #10
bobloblaw
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 224
Thanks: 10
Thanked 70 Times in 36 Posts
Default Re: What is the best way to run a wire through the roof?

Quote:
Originally Posted by autostaretx View Post
Cable Glands don't demand "round"
They don't? It seems like all the cables running through glands in your pictures are round. McMaster even sells specific glands for building (flat) cable: https://www.mcmaster.com/7935k11

I'd be happy to run duplex through a clam.. I just dont want to be the first experiment and have a leak in my roof.
bobloblaw is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.