Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > Sprinter-Based RV's & Conversions > Sprinter RV's & Conversions Talk

Sprinter RV's & Conversions Talk Common features found in Sprinter RV's and Conversions.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2019, 07:54 PM   #1
TTMartin
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Punta Gorda, FL
Posts: 128
Thanks: 113
Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts
Default Espar D2, Digi-Max D1000, Temp Sensor, and HAK wiring

HELP!

I've found a wiring diagram from Explorist.life for the D2, EasyStart select controller, HAK, and Temperature Sensor. I have the wiring diagram that came with the HAK that shows how to wire it with the Digi-Max D1000. And I have the Digi-Max 1000 instructions.

What confuses me is where do I wire the Temp Sensor?

The Digi-Max D1000 instructions say that Grey Pin 5 is an optional connection for an external temperature sensor. Great, but, how do you wire it? The Temp Sensor has a Grey and a Brown, the Explorist.life diagram shows it wired to the D2 directly with the Brown/White spliced and connected to the Brown of the Temp Sensor and the Grey wired directly to the D2 Grey. But, that would completely bypass the Grey wire on the Dig-Max D1000.

I've spent hours Google searching this, but, haven't found one that tells how to wire the D2 with a Digi-Max D1000, HAK, and Temp Sensor.

Does the Digi-Max D1000 have a built in Temp Sensor the Grey goes to the Grey on the D2 and I didn't need to buy a Temp Sensor.

Thanks in advance!
TTMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2019, 09:07 PM   #2
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 10,033
Thanks: 1,960
Thanked 6,653 Times in 4,200 Posts
Default Re: Espar D2, Digi-Max D1000, Temp Sensor, and HAK wiring

You can connect the sensor direct to the heater if its the right type. One wire goes to the ground, the other goes to the temp input in the D2 harness. Some thermostats have a built in temp sensor, so they can be connected to the temp input/sensor wire.

If you can post the diagrams you are referencing, that would be helpful.
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 187,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2019, 10:09 PM   #3
TTMartin
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Punta Gorda, FL
Posts: 128
Thanks: 113
Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts
Default Re: Espar D2, Digi-Max D1000, Temp Sensor, and HAK wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midwestdrifter View Post
You can connect the sensor direct to the heater if its the right type. One wire goes to the ground, the other goes to the temp input in the D2 harness. Some thermostats have a built in temp sensor, so they can be connected to the temp input/sensor wire.

If you can post the diagrams you are referencing, that would be helpful.
I think you are correct that the Digi-Max D1000 may have a built in Temp Sensor. Researched and purchased everything months ago, and am finally getting around to installing it. I bought the Temp Sensor separate from my initial purchase because I was reading that otherwise the Espar will be reading the temperature at the intake and not in the back of the van. The D1000 will be located in a location where what ever temperature it is sensing will be fine.
TTMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2019, 10:23 PM   #4
rollerbearing
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,765
Thanks: 585
Thanked 903 Times in 626 Posts
Default Re: Espar D2, Digi-Max D1000, Temp Sensor, and HAK wiring

I seem to recall there was a pretty good diagram in the builds section. The 801 and digimax1000 are wired the same way.
rollerbearing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2019, 10:49 PM   #5
rollerbearing
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,765
Thanks: 585
Thanked 903 Times in 626 Posts
Default Re: Espar D2, Digi-Max D1000, Temp Sensor, and HAK wiring

I think this is what I was remembering - start here:

Quote:
Originally Posted by rollerbearing View Post
Thank JFloFoto for this updated schematic
rollerbearing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 05:26 AM   #6
elemental
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: USA PNW
Posts: 342
Thanks: 144
Thanked 220 Times in 143 Posts
Default Re: Espar D2, Digi-Max D1000, Temp Sensor, and HAK wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTMartin View Post
HELP!

I've found a wiring diagram from Explorist.life for the D2, EasyStart select controller, HAK, and Temperature Sensor. I have the wiring diagram that came with the HAK that shows how to wire it with the Digi-Max D1000. And I have the Digi-Max 1000 instructions.

What confuses me is where do I wire the Temp Sensor?

The Digi-Max D1000 instructions say that Grey Pin 5 is an optional connection for an external temperature sensor. Great, but, how do you wire it? The Temp Sensor has a Grey and a Brown, the Explorist.life diagram shows it wired to the D2 directly with the Brown/White spliced and connected to the Brown of the Temp Sensor and the Grey wired directly to the D2 Grey. But, that would completely bypass the Grey wire on the Dig-Max D1000.

I've spent hours Google searching this, but, haven't found one that tells how to wire the D2 with a Digi-Max D1000, HAK, and Temp Sensor.

Does the Digi-Max D1000 have a built in Temp Sensor the Grey goes to the Grey on the D2 and I didn't need to buy a Temp Sensor.

Thanks in advance!
My understanding is that the Digi-Max D1000 has a built-in temperature sensor that you wire to the Grey on the D2 (and my D2 with HAK and D1000 has been working just as I expect it to) if you want the temperature at the location of the D1000 to control the D2. If you are using the D1000 with the D2 AND you want to use the HAK, then you need to add a switch that selects between one of the D1000 leads or one of the HAK leads going to the D2. Attached is the diagram that purports to show it. I believe that the D2 is not shown but would be on the left, and the switch switches between the Blue/White wire from the D1000 or the Blue/White wire from the HAK. This diagram also shows the Grey wire from the D1000 going to the D2. You only switch the HAK off and the D1000 on when you want to use the D1000 diagnostics function.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg digi-max-with-high-alt-sensor-w-diag-switch.jpg (37.0 KB, 14 views)
__________________
--
2017 Sprinter 2500 170 Crew OM642 5-speed auto with Adventure Wagon interior&MOAB
elemental is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to elemental For This Useful Post:
TTMartin (08-06-2019)

Tags
espar d2, temp sensors, wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.