Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > T1N Sprinters > T1N Talk

T1N Talk General Discussions related to T1N Sprinters.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2019, 09:40 PM   #1
ManWithDog
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Austin - Soon Denver
Posts: 180
Thanks: 137
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Default 02-03 Turbo Actuator

Hello
I have a 2002 Freightliner with approx 225k miles, original turbo, new hoses, new turbo exhaust manifold and gasket, new catalytic converters, clean egr

I suspect i may have a bad turbo actuator

The van runs great after you start it, if you allow it to idle for more than 20 seconds, the turbo stops working completely, and i must restart the engine for it to work again. very frustrating

I have searched for the vacuum actuator and found very little information. I've spent a few thousand dollars trying to fix this and after saving for a year, I'm ready to spend some more money again. So.... Does this sound like a turbo actuator?
ManWithDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 10:20 PM   #2
Godzills14
Godzillas14
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: 02-03 Turbo Actuator

Does the arm move on startup? If you donít let it idle does your turbo work?
Godzills14 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Godzills14 For This Useful Post:
ManWithDog (08-16-2019)
Old 08-16-2019, 10:57 PM   #3
ManWithDog
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Austin - Soon Denver
Posts: 180
Thanks: 137
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: 02-03 Turbo Actuator

the arm on my turbo? yes it moves at start up. it'll freeze and be unmovable if i don't take off qucikly after i start it up however.

if i don't let it idle and keep moving, the turbo works non stop.

i'll start it up right before a ramp to the highway and stay at 80mph non stop and can drive for hours

the second the rpm comes down to around idle, the turbo stops working, the arm in the middle of the turbo wont go up or down.
ManWithDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 11:17 PM   #4
MillionMileSprinter
Formerly Type2Teach
 
MillionMileSprinter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 3,160
Thanks: 1,162
Thanked 1,499 Times in 846 Posts
Default Re: 02-03 Turbo Actuator

Are there any error codes that pop up?
If not, then it's pretty classic on that engine to have the turbo actuator go bad but not register with the ECU.
Here's a link to it on my website:
https://www.millionmilesprinter.com/...2002-2003-only
__________________
Sprinter Mechanic
'04 long/tall Silver Passenger 156K (Totaled! 11/2018)
'06 long/tall White Passenger 180K
'06 medium/short Silver Passenger 265k
Joel Sell
For HELP, SERVICE and MORE
Visit: www.millionmilesprinter.com
Cooling System Kit: https://www.millionmilesprinter.com/...n-life-cooling
Follow me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/million_mile_sprinter/
MMS YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuq...mQ8mWdgF1XpLhg
MillionMileSprinter is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MillionMileSprinter For This Useful Post:
billintomahawk (08-19-2019)
Old 08-16-2019, 11:26 PM   #5
ManWithDog
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Austin - Soon Denver
Posts: 180
Thanks: 137
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: 02-03 Turbo Actuator

million mile sprinter, the description on your web page is exactly what is happening to my van. but the turbo doesnt surge on the highway. no check engine light. Is it difficult to install?
ManWithDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 12:39 PM   #6
ManWithDog
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Austin - Soon Denver
Posts: 180
Thanks: 137
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: 02-03 Turbo Actuator

Okay, so it could be my actuator. What should I check before ordering it?
ManWithDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 03:07 PM   #7
lindenengineering
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 12,184
Thanks: 3,002
Thanked 10,188 Times in 5,196 Posts
Default Re: 02-03 Turbo Actuator

I tell,you what --Don't shotgun.
The system communication is by rubber type vacuum tube ,something like "5 tirtytoots" diameter.
Rubber tube gets soft with age & oil contamination.
When it gets soft it collapses under vacuum activity, vacuum cant operate the actuator so it "no pulsey it no workee!
Pull out the air cleaner box and inspect the vacuum hoses. If in doubt replace them by buying lengths of the correct size vacuum hose from some autoparts store like Advanced for a few paisters.
Then try again.
Dennis
lindenengineering is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to lindenengineering For This Useful Post:
billintomahawk (08-19-2019), hkpierce (08-17-2019), ManWithDog (08-17-2019)
Old 08-20-2019, 11:58 PM   #8
ManWithDog
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Austin - Soon Denver
Posts: 180
Thanks: 137
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: 02-03 Turbo Actuator

Today i pulled my airbox out and checked the actuator. The hose from the actuator to the bottom of turbo looks new however all the other hoses look 17 years old. The old hoses also look like i would need to special order them. I took some photos. Ill post them in a few

Last edited by ManWithDog; 08-21-2019 at 02:22 AM.
ManWithDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 12:01 AM   #9
ManWithDog
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Austin - Soon Denver
Posts: 180
Thanks: 137
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: 02-03 Turbo Actuator

https://ibb.co/BPbsK1z
https://ibb.co/2WrFLZc
https://ibb.co/V9m8nNz

Last edited by ManWithDog; 08-21-2019 at 12:06 AM.
ManWithDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 12:08 AM   #10
ManWithDog
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Austin - Soon Denver
Posts: 180
Thanks: 137
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: 02-03 Turbo Actuator

Should i replace all the hoses?

And Million Mile Sprinter, does your actuator come with those hoses?

Also, if it were just the hoses, wouldnt the van always run crappy? It runs great when i first start it, but after sitting at low rpm for 20 seconds or so, the turbo quits and i must restart the van to get it running good again.

If i tie the arm in the middle of the turbo all the way down, it runs great no matter what.

Last edited by ManWithDog; 08-21-2019 at 12:11 AM.
ManWithDog is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.