Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > General Forums > Sprinter Talk > Scanners


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2018, 05:16 PM   #181
autostaretx
Erratic Member
 
autostaretx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 17,134
Thanks: 3,007
Thanked 7,692 Times in 5,625 Posts
Default Re: iCarSoft MB II users group discussion thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sethlp View Post
I think I'm mistaking chassis for wheel base. I have a 140 wheel base. Is that different than a 903 906?
I'm not finding my answer in the wiki
The "903" and "906" are the MB numbers for the body style of the Sprinters.

The wheelbase doesn't really factor into that.
(after all, 140 is in *inches*, and MB actually uses (surprise!) metric: 3550 mm )

(my 118" wheelbase is 3000 mm in MB-speak)

If you have your Sprinter's datacard, look at the *other* VIN (or VID) number... it will have the "903" as the 4th thru 6th characters.
We're also known as "316" ... you'll see that number used by many UK and Australian members when they're posting about their Sprinters). The "3" means "Sprinter" 3 tonne (see Cheyenne's note).
The "16" part of that is our engine size (in horsepower, rounded to the nearest 10, and then dropping the trailing zero) ...

I've also seen us as "VA", with the NCV3 being "VB"

--dick
p.s. to get your MB datacard (what they built into *your* Sprinter), go here: http://carinfo.kiev.ua/cars/vin/mercedes/vin_check
..and type in your VIN ... you can then screen-scrape the results instead of paying for a PDF copy.
__________________
2005 T1N 118" Freightliner 2500 Passenger Wagon (2.7L, 15" tires, standard (short) roof)
Get YOUR Sprinter's full configuration datacard by entering your VIN to https://www.datamb.com/
http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference <-- lots of service documentation, Thanks to Jens Moller and Arnie_Oli
((as always: this post may go through a couple of post-posting edits... so maybe give it ten minutes before commenting))

Last edited by autostaretx; 11-26-2018 at 09:11 PM.
autostaretx is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to autostaretx For This Useful Post:
DesertAdventures (12-06-2018)
Old 11-26-2018, 05:57 PM   #182
Cheyenne
UK 2004 T1N 313CDi
 
Cheyenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 2,611
Thanks: 124
Thanked 1,613 Times in 1,117 Posts
Default Re: iCarSoft MB II users group discussion thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by autostaretx View Post

We're also known as "316" ... you'll see that number used by many UK and Australian members when they're posting about their Sprinters). The "3" means "Sprinter"
The "16" part of that is our engine size (in horsepower, rounded to the nearest 10, and then dropped.
Not quite right Dick,

The 3 means a nominal 3 Tonnes GVW, ie between 3,000 and 3,999 kg Gross Vehicle Weight.

My 313 CDI has a GVW of 3,800 kg but a 416 CDi would likely have a GVW of 4,200 kg or 4,500 kg.

Keith.
__________________
2004 UK Spec 313CDi (OM611 2.2 litre 4 Cylinder Manual Non-ABS)
Auto-Trail 'Cheyenne' Coachbuilt Motorhome
36,000 miles from New

Sprinter reference info site http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference/
Cheyenne is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Cheyenne For This Useful Post:
autostaretx (11-26-2018), DesertAdventures (12-06-2018)
Old 12-29-2018, 10:11 PM   #183
JSL
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 39
Thanks: 38
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: iCarSoft MB II users group discussion thread

Hi Ya'll,

I am a new-to-me Sprinter owner and have been reading through this thread - just got my icarsoft in the mail, but it's not connecting to the ECU. It will talk to parts of the van - I see it lighting up some stuff on the dash - but not the ECU. It says "NO OBD" and reading a "CAN communication error" with the ECU, the brake system and the transmission. It's running version 11.11 - from what I'm reading, it seems like I do not need to update for it to work correctly, but just looking for verification on that.

It looks as if a couple other folks have had this problem, but for most folks seems like it's easy to plug-and-go... desperately need to check fuel rail pressure.

Any advice for me?
JSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 10:27 PM   #184
DUTCH VanAtlanta
Curmudgeon
 
DUTCH VanAtlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 66
Thanks: 29
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default Re: iCarSoft MB II users group discussion thread

Begs the question if anyone has used the iCarSoft MB V2.0? That is supposed to be the updated version of the MB II scanner with a faster process speed and Data Print.
DUTCH VanAtlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 10:43 PM   #185
Brokecanadian
2005 Cargo 2500 SHC NA
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Southern Ontario Canada
Posts: 699
Thanks: 355
Thanked 163 Times in 139 Posts
Default Re: iCarSoft MB II users group discussion thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSL View Post
Hi Ya'll,

I am a new-to-me Sprinter owner and have been reading through this thread - just got my icarsoft in the mail, but it's not connecting to the ECU. It will talk to parts of the van - I see it lighting up some stuff on the dash - but not the ECU. It says "NO OBD" and reading a "CAN communication error" with the ECU, the brake system and the transmission. It's running version 11.11 - from what I'm reading, it seems like I do not need to update for it to work correctly, but just looking for verification on that.

It looks as if a couple other folks have had this problem, but for most folks seems like it's easy to plug-and-go... desperately need to check fuel rail pressure.

Any advice for me?

I think I covered it in my huge post awhile back.... What's missing is your year of Van, I had no luck on later models other than resetting the trouble codes, past 2013


I also think the recent ecu reflash recall has screwed up some people. I avoided all recalls
Brokecanadian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 12:03 AM   #186
mountainhick
 
mountainhick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 352
Thanks: 216
Thanked 112 Times in 82 Posts
Default Re: iCarSoft MB II users group discussion thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSL View Post
Hi Ya'll,

I am a new-to-me Sprinter owner and have been reading through this thread - just got my icarsoft in the mail, but it's not connecting to the ECU. It will talk to parts of the van - I see it lighting up some stuff on the dash - but not the ECU. It says "NO OBD" and reading a "CAN communication error" with the ECU, the brake system and the transmission. It's running version 11.11 - from what I'm reading, it seems like I do not need to update for it to work correctly, but just looking for verification on that.

It looks as if a couple other folks have had this problem, but for most folks seems like it's easy to plug-and-go... desperately need to check fuel rail pressure.

Any advice for me?
What is your year and model Sprinter?

I had the same with 11.11 for my 2006 T1N. You have to download the 11.20 update. You need the correct update version for your model scanner. It is a little non intuitive on their website. Across the top of this web page select the scanner model you have in order to go to the correct download. https://www.icarsoft.com/Page/103.html

I also found this site to be a great help figuring out where to find which scans for various needs: https://sprinter-camper.com/icarsoft...ntrol-modules/
__________________
2006 140" High Roof T1N OM647
Cargo van turned camper

Last edited by mountainhick; 12-30-2018 at 12:07 AM.
mountainhick is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mountainhick For This Useful Post:
autostaretx (12-30-2018)
Old 12-30-2018, 10:32 PM   #187
JSL
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 39
Thanks: 38
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: iCarSoft MB II users group discussion thread

Hey ya'll, thanks for the posts -- I wasn't being alerted, otherwise would have checked faster.

I have a 2002 cargo van, 158, high top. 903. Not sure how many ways I need to identify it. ha.

I did the update, no joy.

It will read things like RPMs, coolant temp, speed, etc. but won't recognize the protocol (in the beginning) and it can't see the OBD. I can't start the van (doesn't run - hence why I need the scanner) so the only thing I haven't been able to do is play with the tool while the van is running.

I have checked voltage and ground in the port. TBH the port looks a little beat-up and I'm wondering if anyone knows how to diagnose a bad OBD port? I was told that I could find diagnostics for the OBD port in the manual, but haven't come across it.

Will also check out the links - thanks ya'll
JSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 07:58 PM   #188
mountainhick
 
mountainhick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 352
Thanks: 216
Thanked 112 Times in 82 Posts
Default Re: iCarSoft MB II users group discussion thread

I can't tell if you read through the website I provided. https://sprinter-camper.com/icarsoft...ntrol-modules/

If you don't pull up the right version of iCarSoft in the menu and then correct vehicle section, you won't find what you need.

e.g. if I remember clearly, to access ECM engine data, you need to use 11.20, then 960.6 or 901.6-etc multiple model number listing then look at CDI common rail.

Otherwise, it does sound potentially like a connectivity problem.
__________________
2006 140" High Roof T1N OM647
Cargo van turned camper
mountainhick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 09:01 PM   #189
JSL
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 39
Thanks: 38
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: iCarSoft MB II users group discussion thread

@ Mountainhick - yes sorry, I did look at that website sorry. It was mostly info I already knew, so I didn't think to mention it - though I appreciate it.

I ended up sending back the icarsoft and am going to try the Autel. Bummer. Guess I'll be switching to the other troubleshooting thread :)
JSL is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JSL For This Useful Post:
mountainhick (12-31-2018)
Old 01-14-2019, 08:43 PM   #190
sprintertjrll
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: iCarSoft MB II users group discussion thread

I have an 05 Dodge sprinter and am looking for a quality scanner that will read injector correction values, o2 sensor and turn off injectors. Will this scanner do this?
sprintertjrll is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.