Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > T1N Sprinters > T1N Talk

T1N Talk General Discussions related to T1N Sprinters.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2019, 02:16 PM   #11
pfflyer
 
pfflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Home of the Walking Dead
Posts: 3,978
Thanks: 1,193
Thanked 1,622 Times in 1,225 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

T1N only? Can it be programed for letting us know when regeneration is in progress?
__________________
Full time cargo part time camper.
My convertible Sprinter http://sprinter-source.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39367
2013 long tall convertible crew van used for work now
2016 Jayco Melbourne 24K Class C on 2015 Sprinter chassis
pfflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 02:28 PM   #12
vanski
'05 Box Snow Camper
 
vanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SFBA, CA
Posts: 1,636
Thanks: 751
Thanked 696 Times in 492 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

Wow. Great value. Great work!

I’m very interested in having something like this which can save metric data over time and then those values can be retrieved. Perhaps it wouldn’t be all the values, perhaps a specified subset. Any chance your data logged has this fx or could possibly in the future?
vanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 02:29 PM   #13
Nautamaran
2004 140Ē SHC U.S. T1N
 
Nautamaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,687
Thanks: 927
Thanked 1,806 Times in 1,205 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pfflyer View Post
T1N only? Can it be programed for letting us know when regeneration is in progress?
No. Due to the way the T1N uses of the diagnostic K-lines (there are a total of seven), and the undocumented nature of the data blocks being requested (some are 45 bytes long) the programming is specific to the NAFTA T1N. I havenít looked at the NCV3 to see how difficult it would be to adapt, but this is NOT a CAN-C bus device, it just plugs into the Datalink OBDII Connector (by the hood release).

-dave
Nautamaran is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 02:36 PM   #14
Geriakt
2017 View 24J
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Central FL, USA
Posts: 730
Thanks: 100
Thanked 277 Times in 204 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

Nice work. Others have developed Arduino to include back up cameras, Android Audio units, GPS, BMS , Victron Energy Venus devices and others. Wouldn't is be great to combined all this into one unit. I know it is pipe dream, but a thought.
Geriakt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 02:37 PM   #15
mountainhick
 
mountainhick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 376
Thanks: 247
Thanked 122 Times in 91 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nautamaran View Post
I intend to write a bit more code to allow pulling and clearing DTC's from the engine and transmission by tapping areas of the display. It's able to read basic DTC's and their status (eg: P1041, current/pending/stored), but I will have to do some additional snooping to get at the extended sub-codes (eg: P1041-3)


So... who would be interested in buying one of these if I were to put a batch together, and at what price point?

-dave
Thanks for offering this, what a great tool! I am totally in!

Are you looking at rolling out before or after adding this reading/clearing code function, and is there any plan for other future upgrades (I assume available through re-flashing the arduino?)
__________________
2006 140" High Roof T1N OM647
Cargo van turned camper
mountainhick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 02:40 PM   #16
eralimited57
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 468
Thanks: 190
Thanked 119 Times in 73 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

If you ever do for an NCV3 3.0L then I would be interested in one.
eralimited57 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to eralimited57 For This Useful Post:
Nautamaran (09-26-2019)
Old 09-26-2019, 03:05 PM   #17
OChrisJonesO
Chris Jones
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 29
Thanks: 7
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

I'd definitely be interested in one once they're ready to roll.
OChrisJonesO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 03:11 PM   #18
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 10,703
Thanks: 2,099
Thanked 7,077 Times in 4,468 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

The nice thing about the arduino is that the upload process is fairly straight forward, so anyone can make changes to the software (if they have the knowhow), and feature additions are a simple mater of reflashing the software/sketch. The Atmel chips are decently capable for embedded hardware, and can handle some modestly sophisticated stuff.
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 187,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2019, 04:01 PM   #19
Nautamaran
2004 140Ē SHC U.S. T1N
 
Nautamaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,687
Thanks: 927
Thanked 1,806 Times in 1,205 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanski View Post
Wow. Great value. Great work!

Iím very interested in having something like this which can save metric data over time and then those values can be retrieved. Perhaps it wouldnít be all the values, perhaps a specified subset. Any chance your data logged has this fx or could possibly in the future?
Calbiker has his device writing to a CSV file on an SD card, logging every few (five?) seconds.
The K-line is capable of running faster, but there appears to be a bottleneck somewhere in the card write. Then he pulls the card and reads the file in a spreadsheet program.

The display shield in mine has a touch screen and a micro-SD slot, but I havenít used these yet.
The SD card is located under the display so is a bit awkward to reach, even if I added a slot to the case... some sort of carrier would be required (much like an iPhone sim card?)
Perhaps easier to unscrew the lid and pop the card out?

-dave
Nautamaran is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nautamaran For This Useful Post:
vanski (09-26-2019)
Old 09-26-2019, 04:16 PM   #20
Nautamaran
2004 140Ē SHC U.S. T1N
 
Nautamaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,687
Thanks: 927
Thanked 1,806 Times in 1,205 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mountainhick View Post
Thanks for offering this, what a great tool! I am totally in!

Are you looking at rolling out before or after adding this reading/clearing code function, and is there any plan for other future upgrades (I assume available through re-flashing the arduino?)
Iím putting a few together now as-is.
There is a fair amount of code to write to get the touchscreen interface going, and to be clear this is a personal hobby item, not a commercial pursuit. (My wife is very tolerant )

As MWD said, a reflash is straightforward using the Arduino IDE, or maybe you could send it back to me to share in any future upgrades (though that might be a bit arduous with border crossings)

-dave
Nautamaran is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nautamaran For This Useful Post:
mountainhick (09-26-2019)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.