Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > T1N Sprinters > T1N Talk

T1N Talk General Discussions related to T1N Sprinters.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2019, 06:41 PM   #151
Nautamaran
2004 140” SHC U.S. T1N
 
Nautamaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 919
Thanked 1,789 Times in 1,200 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

The “driving” screens are coming together, and I’m working on the code for alarm set points this week.
So I needed to calibrate my “red” dip stick against the oil sump level reported by my van’s sensor.
The stick’s MIN..MAX range corresponds to 45..70 mm on the oil level sensor, but that’s only part of the story.

Once warm, with an oil temp of 180’F a “middle stick” oil level settles in around 30 mm while cruising, climbs to about 38mm at idle, and to about 55mm after shutdown. At 115’F the same sump shrinks by 5mm.

So the oil level alarm logic is compensated for RPM and temperature, since it is perfectly normal to see these variations, but if the adjusted level moves quickly or drops out, a major alarm (screen flashing) will trigger.

After watching my oil temperature all summer I’ve settled on 225’F as “normal” and 240..245’F as first stage (yellow) alarm, 245’F as a Red alarm (I’ve only reached 240 on extended hill climbs after I’ve saturated the cooling system).

These alarm points are stored in EEPROM, with an interface for adjusting them in the works.

-dave

Alarm points:
RPM . . V.Low . Low . . Normal . . High . V.High (hot)
0 . . <40 mm . 45 mm . .50.65. . 70mm . 75 mm
700 . (drop by 10 mm)
>1500 . (drop by 25 mm)

Stopped sump level vs sensor temp
Temp . Level
170’F . 55mm
135’F . 53mm
120’F . 50mm
110’F . 47mm
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 271530C5-C632-47C1-9ADC-C1B47FC560DB.jpeg (58.3 KB, 80 views)

Last edited by Nautamaran; 11-20-2019 at 07:35 PM.
Nautamaran is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Nautamaran For This Useful Post:
99sport (11-22-2019), az7000' (11-21-2019), Carminooch615 (11-21-2019), Midwestdrifter (11-20-2019), mountainhick (11-20-2019), vanski (11-20-2019)
Old 11-20-2019, 07:21 PM   #152
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 10,621
Thanks: 2,087
Thanked 7,042 Times in 4,440 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

Very thorough. I appreciate the RPM compensation.
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 187,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 07:38 PM   #153
Nautamaran
2004 140” SHC U.S. T1N
 
Nautamaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 919
Thanked 1,789 Times in 1,200 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midwestdrifter View Post
Very thorough. I appreciate the RPM compensation.
Thank you.
Nuisance alarms are the worst...
Nautamaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 04:13 AM   #154
JHGould5607
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Bloomington MN
Posts: 29
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

Very cool stuff. Count me in. Where/how does the deposit work?
JHGould5607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 04:48 PM   #155
sipma02
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

I've got a lead on a 3D scanner and CNC mill, where I MIGHT be able to mill the negative shape of the driver's A-frame trim piece from foam. Then, we could use the CNC to cut a negative shape of foam out and lay fiberglass over that. Kinda like the image i attached. The Arduino instrument panel would be mounted in there. Still discussing with an engineering friend about feasibility. Any interest?
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2019-11-22 at 10.47.00 AM.png (230.8 KB, 61 views)
__________________
2006 (T1N) Dodge Sprinter 158" 3500
sipma02 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to sipma02 For This Useful Post:
altide8 (11-22-2019), glasseye (11-22-2019), Gulfbreeze (11-23-2019), koenb (11-22-2019), Nautamaran (11-22-2019), Riptide (11-23-2019), RJV (11-28-2019), turbodave (11-22-2019)
Old 11-22-2019, 04:53 PM   #156
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 10,621
Thanks: 2,087
Thanked 7,042 Times in 4,440 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

I would be interested. I think 3D printing from a higher temp plastic would be easier/cheaper for a small production run. Black or a similar gray would be easy enough colors to source.
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 187,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 05:10 PM   #157
turbodave
06 Tall 140 DIY Campervan
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 72
Thanks: 92
Thanked 29 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

sipma02:
Interested!
Dave
__________________
2006 Hyacinth Blue 140 DIY Campervan
turbodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 09:43 PM   #158
koenb
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

So talking something similar to this? Dave, can you tell us the demension of the enclosure? I wonder if we could retrofit a mount from edge tuner products. https://www.etrailer.com/Performance...CABEgJiBPD_BwE
__________________
2006 T1N, 2500, 140"WB, Low Roof, Cargo

Last edited by koenb; 11-22-2019 at 10:00 PM.
koenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 10:48 PM   #159
Nautamaran
2004 140” SHC U.S. T1N
 
Nautamaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 919
Thanked 1,789 Times in 1,200 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by koenb View Post
Dave, can you tell us the dimensions of the enclosure?
The enclosure is a Hammond Mfg “1591C” in grey (1591CGY)

Nominal size (inches) is 4.7 x 2.6 x 1.4 deep

Grabbing a random one and my calipers...
The side faces are all slightly trapezoidal, tapering to the back face (to ease mold release)

Front (cover) face: 4.717” x 2.556”
Depth: 1.565” (1.410” to box/cover seam)
Back (bottom) face: 4.701” x 2.538”

The MicroSD card slot is cut in 1.235” from the outside end, 0.150” from the outside bottom face, and is 0.08” x 0.45” and aligns with the SD/clock card I have glued inside the enclosure.

The OBDII cable (1/4” diam) can enter through a side or the back face, as long as it remains clear of the SD board. A rear lower left entry is likely best, hiding the cable from the driver’s view and making it easier to push the box straight back into a support without cable interference.

Accessing the SD card in its current placement is a challenge if you add a mounting bezel... it can be rotated to come out on the left or right end, or it fits upright on the right edge (see photo), but that conflicts with the OFF switch, which can be moved to the left end if I remove the power socket from the Mega (which points at the end wall so I’m not using it, and it conflicts with the case’s lower left screw post anyway, which I’m trimming back with a router) There isn’t clearance above or below the screen for the data logging board.

There are ventilation holes (to be) drilled through the back along the upper and lower edges, clear of the support posts. I haven’t measured heat load, but it’s likely 15-20 watts, higher in direct sunlight.
Much of this comes off the buck, which is there to reduce the heat load on the Mega’s voltage regulator.

The voltage buck and my K-line board are stuck flat against the back of the Mega, and the screen pins in on top, which together with wiring uses most of the 1.3” inside box depth.

-dave
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg FCAC18F7-369C-4075-B2B1-6524EFBD57E1.jpeg (93.0 KB, 52 views)

Last edited by Nautamaran; 11-22-2019 at 10:52 PM.
Nautamaran is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nautamaran For This Useful Post:
sassmatt72 (11-23-2019)
Old 11-23-2019, 01:46 PM   #160
koenb
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default Re: Who wants an Arduino-based Aux Instrument Panel?

What if the off switch is removed from the enclosure and it gets remote mounted onto to one of the blank switch covers on the dash left of the steering wheel. Then the SD slot could be positioned where the switch is now and allow front access.
koenb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to koenb For This Useful Post:
sassmatt72 (11-23-2019)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.