Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > VS30 Sprinters > VS30 Write-Ups

VS30 Write-Ups Help other VS30 owners by posting your experience working on your Sprinter.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2019, 03:14 AM   #1
familytruckster11
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 31
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default V30 Under driver seat pics and time for a beer.....

The fun part of this journey is that 2019s seem rare enough to not have any write ups yet. SO tonights accomplishments. Please do not let me duplicate....if there is a write up out there then lemme know.

1) removed connection to battery next to accelerator

2) removed 4 bolts securing driver seat.
Note: My rig has factory swivel seats with lower bases. Swiveling the seat give great access to the Etorx bolts

3) Unplug the yellow connector and the White connector for seat electronics.
Is yellow Airbag I assume and white is electric seat adjustment

4) encounter way more cabling that does not look like anything in any other research.

I have a FEMALE EC8 TO RING TERMINAL and LINK that I would like to safely connect. https://www.goalzero.com/shop/kits/y...-charging-kit/

FIRST QUESTION:
Any ideas on where I should tie this in?
I found the ground BUT there is a heck of a lot of stuff to remove to get to it.....AND I found what looks like a bus bar....I believe the Goal Zero yeti Link will take 50 AMPs/750W

pictures attached.....down side to getting a loaded van....they shove more wiring in it.....

SECOND QUESTION:
The GZ yeti link will detect when voltage drops and stop pulling from van battery. My van has a factory aux battery (both AGM). My question is...how does MB wire these?
Does starter battery charge first then charge aux battery? I know there is an isolator to prevent a dead battery. I just do not know if they put an isolator between Starter and aux battery OR is it after them as a group...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0570.jpg (146.7 KB, 374 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0573.jpg (144.7 KB, 326 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0574.jpg (157.0 KB, 316 views)
familytruckster11 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to familytruckster11 For This Useful Post:
sprinterdiscovery (08-31-2019)
Old 08-31-2019, 09:38 AM   #2
Notfamous
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Chattanooga
Posts: 39
Thanks: 1
Thanked 26 Times in 14 Posts
Default Re: V30 Under driver seat pics and time for a beer.....

I love my goal zero 1400 and yetlink smart connection!

You can connect the yeti Link to you aux battery. You should.already have an OEM isolator installed. If you download the Sprinter Builders Equipment Guide, it will tell you each post's limit. a3 (or labeled "3") is the cable that goes directly to your aux battery.

For the ground, you will need to use a ratchet with extension to loosen 2-3 bolts that attaches the black platform that houses all the electronics under the seat to the floor.



Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Notfamous is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Notfamous For This Useful Post:
sprinterdiscovery (08-31-2019)
Old 08-31-2019, 03:33 PM   #3
sanomechanic
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Clemente Ca
Posts: 497
Thanks: 92
Thanked 159 Times in 127 Posts
Default Re: V30 Under driver seat pics and time for a beer.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by familytruckster11 View Post
My question is...how does MB wire these?
Does starter battery charge first then charge aux battery? I know there is an isolator to prevent a dead battery. I just do not know if they put an isolator between Starter and aux battery OR is it after them as a group...
When the ignition switch is in the on position, the isolator relay coil is energized. That completes a circuit that allows both batteries to be in parallel "together" so the engine alternator can charge both. When ignition is turned off. it separates the 2 batteries so you cannot drain the battery that operates the starter, proprietary van electronics and engine control system. Make sure you do not tap into the wrong power source.
sanomechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 05:25 PM   #4
autostaretx
Erratic Member
 
autostaretx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 17,811
Thanks: 3,114
Thanked 8,083 Times in 5,896 Posts
Default Re: V30 Under driver seat pics and time for a beer.....

Labeling your photo:

UnderSeatWiring05labels.jpg

MB does not operate the Isolation relay when you turn on the key.
They wait until the alternator is actually generating power. (D+ active).

There is an "EK1" terminal strip with fused "copies" of battery, ignition-on and D+ available.

It may be that covered set of posts hiding behind the isolation relay.
(the smallest post will be the "D+" signal, designed for user-supplied isolation relays (or kicking the Yeti))
In your fuse list, there will be three with the words "body manufacturer" as part of the description ... those are the fuses feeding the three-post EK1 strip.

--dick
__________________
2005 T1N 118" Freightliner 2500 Passenger Wagon (2.7L, 15" tires, standard (short) roof)
Get YOUR Sprinter's full configuration datacard by entering your VIN to https://www.datamb.com/
http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference <-- lots of service documentation, Thanks to Jens Moller and Arnie_Oli
((as always: this post may go through a couple of post-posting edits... so maybe give it ten minutes before commenting))

Last edited by autostaretx; 08-31-2019 at 05:31 PM.
autostaretx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 05:56 PM   #5
autostaretx
Erratic Member
 
autostaretx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 17,811
Thanks: 3,114
Thanked 8,083 Times in 5,896 Posts
Default Re: V30 Under driver seat pics and time for a beer.....

..and then there's this helpful thread: https://sprinter-source.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=76744

... which includes this photo of the EK1 strip with its cover open (you can see the isolation relay, too)



The "top" (smallest) post in that photo is what you'd use to trigger other isolation relay systems.

Your Yeti will also need to have a "common ground" (i.e. its negative to the Sprinter's frame) for the trigger (and charging) to work.

--dick
__________________
2005 T1N 118" Freightliner 2500 Passenger Wagon (2.7L, 15" tires, standard (short) roof)
Get YOUR Sprinter's full configuration datacard by entering your VIN to https://www.datamb.com/
http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference <-- lots of service documentation, Thanks to Jens Moller and Arnie_Oli
((as always: this post may go through a couple of post-posting edits... so maybe give it ten minutes before commenting))
autostaretx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 06:59 PM   #6
sanomechanic
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Clemente Ca
Posts: 497
Thanks: 92
Thanked 159 Times in 127 Posts
Default Re: V30 Under driver seat pics and time for a beer.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by autostaretx View Post
Labeling your photo:

Attachment 117910

MB does not operate the Isolation relay when you turn on the key.
They wait until the alternator is actually generating power. (D+ active).

--dick
I left out engine running. "power on"
sanomechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 08:54 PM   #7
familytruckster11
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 31
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: V30 Under driver seat pics and time for a beer.....

awesome info. Thanks for the support. I downloaded the guide......based on all this and the link to the other post (I found that right after I posted as well).

Here is my plan.....once seat is off.....
1) unbolt the plastic carriage to get to the ground bolt. the reassemble...
2) Install SF30 standard - 50 amp fuse on position A1 of the fuse block with M6 bolts. Tie my EC8 Yeti positive cable to that
3) reassemble

Thanks for all the info on the batteries....it sounds like I will never draw from my starter battery no matter what. Only from the aux. As the aux is drained it will take more from the alternator if it is lower than the starter battery (or starter battery is fully charged)
familytruckster11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 02:05 AM   #8
grantwilson
FreedomVanGo
 
grantwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Jacksonville Fl
Posts: 774
Thanks: 89
Thanked 555 Times in 310 Posts
Default Re: V30 Under driver seat pics and time for a beer.....

yuo need to tap the small button with a pin on the LINK module to turn it to car mode.

four times.
__________________
2019 Built 4x4 for sale
2018 Built 4x4 for sale
FreedomVanGo - Jacksonville Florida
The ONLY Certified Adventure Wagon dealer and installer in the SouthEast
Authorized Dealer for Dometic, Ripplewear, Tern Overland, Van Compass and more!
www.vangooutdoors.com
www.youtube.com/GrantWilsonFL
www.Instagram.com/FreedomVanGo
grantwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 03:04 AM   #9
familytruckster11
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 31
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: V30 Under driver seat pics and time for a beer.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by grantwilson View Post
yuo need to tap the small button with a pin on the LINK module to turn it to car mode.

four times.
Got it all installed a hope to post a full write up with pics with it in car mode.

My brand new yeti 1400 has a bug.....I put the link in car mode and the output nor input will show anything but zeros even though it is charging. I have updated the firmware and have seen it posted on goal zero website so I will call them.

My yeti 1400 charges 1% every 5 Min. so in theory.....14Wh per 5 min which seems low compared to goal zero stating it should take up to 750 Watts. .....still thinking through...my goal is that my Dometic will run for 48 hrs off the yeti (7.9 amp peaks).
familytruckster11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 05:28 PM   #10
familytruckster11
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 31
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Re: V30 Under driver seat pics and time for a beer.....

OK so a miracle happened. I think all this was a Goal Zero bug. I am now getting 500+ watts input on my Goal Zero Yeti 1400 AND I can see the draw by the Dometic. After all the hiccups I brought it inside the house and charged over night to 100%. I think that completed the reboot with the new firmware or something......But it is working as I want it too....high input. and connected as the picture I attached....


Thanks everyone for the help on this!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg connectioninF150.jpg (96.0 KB, 221 views)

Last edited by familytruckster11; 09-04-2019 at 07:41 PM.
familytruckster11 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to familytruckster11 For This Useful Post:
wquek (09-19-2019)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.