Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > T1N Sprinters > T1N Talk

T1N Talk General Discussions related to T1N Sprinters.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2019, 05:46 PM   #21
Aqua Puttana
Poly - Thread Finder
 
Aqua Puttana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Falls of Niagara, USA
Posts: 25,174
Thanks: 12,970
Thanked 14,227 Times in 9,031 Posts
Default Re: what is max boost

If you don't find any leaks, check very closely as they can be difficult to pinpoint, a wonky sensor or harness problem can be involved.

The turbo vane actuator moving is a good sign. That could still be involved though. There have been reports of just a small "catch" in the operation causing intermittent LHM. Unfortunately there are many things which can trigger LHM and not necessarily trigger a DTC.

vic
__________________
DAD NAS (N. Amer. Spec) 2004 140 2500 >330,000+ mi. Arctic Whitewash Brush-tone Grey
2006 Freightliner 140 2500HC >183,000+ mi. Arctic Whitewash (Spotted Snow Leopard accents)
"My opinion and worth everything you'll never pay for it." assumed.
Anyone can hold the helm when the sea is calm. Publilius Syrus
"There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't." HaWiiLuVeR
16 ounces of unnecessary prevention can be worth a pound of manure.
Aqua Puttana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 07:19 PM   #22
Nautamaran
2004 140Ē SHC U.S. T1N
 
Nautamaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 919
Thanked 1,782 Times in 1,200 Posts
Default Re: what is max boost

Leaks at the hose clamps at the sensor manifold/splice on the riser hoses (battery side of radiator) were giving me an occasional no-code LHM for two years... that’s GONE since the hose replacement. The worm screw on the clamp had stripped, reducing the clamping pressure. It’s hard to inspect the lower one, but worth getting a mirror out to do so. Beware of cheap hose clamps: many have sharp edges that can slice into the soft rubber when the hose inflates under boost. The factory ones have a nicely rolled edge and so should any replacement. If you’re stuck, put a shim of tough plastic (cut a strip from a milk jug) under the cheap clamp to protect the rubber.

-dave

Last edited by Nautamaran; 10-27-2019 at 01:39 AM.
Nautamaran is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nautamaran For This Useful Post:
cpumechanic3 (10-28-2019)
Old 10-27-2019, 01:26 PM   #23
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 10,621
Thanks: 2,087
Thanked 7,040 Times in 4,440 Posts
Default Re: what is max boost

An exhaust leak at the manifold or turbo flange can cause overboost codes.

You need to check the ambient and MAP sensor readings with key-on-engine-off. They should match within 0.5psi.
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 187,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Midwestdrifter For This Useful Post:
cpumechanic3 (10-28-2019)
Old 10-28-2019, 04:26 PM   #24
cpumechanic3
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 26
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: what is max boost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nautamaran View Post
Leaks at the hose clamps at the sensor manifold/splice on the riser hoses (battery side of radiator) were giving me an occasional no-code LHM for two years... thatís GONE since the hose replacement. The worm screw on the clamp had stripped, reducing the clamping pressure. Itís hard to inspect the lower one, but worth getting a mirror out to do so. Beware of cheap hose clamps: many have sharp edges that can slice into the soft rubber when the hose inflates under boost. The factory ones have a nicely rolled edge and so should any replacement. If youíre stuck, put a shim of tough plastic (cut a strip from a milk jug) under the cheap clamp to protect the rubber.

-dave
The new hose on the battery side of the intercooler was installed as one piece last year, I will follow your advice and remove and inspect... heck.. I may just buy a second new one, and install since those parts are not very expensive and having a backup is always useful.

Thanks to all for the helpful feedback.. I am hoping that the issue goes away, or remains intermittent enough to travel. Will update this thread.

Sure are a lot of potential causes of LHM.. but hey.. I am learning, and it is fun.

CPU
cpumechanic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 04:23 PM   #25
cpumechanic3
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 26
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: what is max boost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midwestdrifter View Post
An exhaust leak at the manifold or turbo flange can cause overboost codes.

You need to check the ambient and MAP sensor readings with key-on-engine-off. They should match within 0.5psi.
Just an update.. Spent 1/2 hour in the cold with my new Autel AP200 and got lots of codes.

When I go to live data I see that 3 pressure sensors all agree within 10 Millibars. Autel help screen says that is what is required (see attached.)

1.0 Atmospheric pressure =993 mB
2.0 Intake pressure = 993mB
3.0 Boost pressure = 991mB

All three readings are with ignition on, engine off.

I then went ahead and did an autoscan and got lots of codes.

On my Instrument Cluster unit I see five (5) Error Codes
B1040-000 CAN communication to the Engine control unit is faulty
B1041-000 CAN communication with the brake system module is faulty
B1042-000 CAN communication to control module electronic transmission control is faulty
B1470- Fuel level sensor has short to ground
B1010 -SRS malfunction indicator lamp is faulty

See image of scan for that module attached. Funny thing is,, my fuel gauge works just fine, and when I turn on ignition , the SRS lamp comes on, the goes off as expected.

I also get some codes from the transmission module (don't recall exactly which one).

They are
P1876 No or incorrect CAN message from ABS
P1817-002 Reversing light has short circuit to positive or open circuit.

The 1817-002 is valid, as I just checked and confirmed that the back up lamps are not coming on when I shift into reverse.

So.. now that I have all theses codes, can anyone suggest on how best to address the CAN related codes from the instrument cluster.

My current problem is when I search for P1040 I get many threads, but don't see that code in the thread. I tried searching with quotes "P1040" but that also did not improve my search results.

I have no check engine lamp , and with the exception of random LHM and the overboost code, rig is running fine.

I have also checked the cable exiting the transmission for external visible leaks or evidence of fluid and it looks perfect and dry.. and was replaced a couple of years ago as a proactive measure to prevent the leak that wicks up the wire and damages the ECU.

Last question is when I try to scan the Transmission I get "unknown version of control module" but when I scan the item above transmission (electronic transmission control) it scans that just fine.

Any ideas why the Autel AP200 wont scan my Transmission module?

Thanks in advance to all the experts

CPU
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sprinter pressure live data.jpg (79.4 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg instrument cluster 5 codes.jpg (86.9 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg dont recall module codes.jpg (54.6 KB, 25 views)
cpumechanic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 04:47 PM   #26
marklg
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Arizona Desert
Posts: 770
Thanks: 134
Thanked 313 Times in 241 Posts
Default Re: what is max boost

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpumechanic3 View Post
Just an update.. Spent 1/2 hour in the cold with my new Autel AP200 and got lots of codes.

I then went ahead and did an autoscan and got lots of codes.

Last question is when I try to scan the Transmission I get "unknown version of control module" but when I scan the item above transmission (electronic transmission control) it scans that just fine.

Any ideas why the Autel AP200 wont scan my Transmission module?

Thanks in advance to all the experts

CPU
Which vehicle did you pick? I found the AP200 scans different modules when you choose the 901 line or the YD line for my 2006. I think I can scan all the modules if I choose both and scan what is available on each. You may not actually have all the modules they list. I think the issue is that Autel does not have a selection that exactly matches the set of modules installed in a Dodge or Freightliner badged Sprinter. So, I believe it thinks modules should be there that don't exist or are a different version it can't talk to.

If you had the T21 recall, there will be stored CAN communication errors in several modules. Whey they reprogram the engine control module, it stops responding and the other modules record communication faults. The dealer is only instructed to clear them from the engine control module. Since you have recorded your faults, try clearing them all and see if they come back.

Regards,

Mark
marklg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 05:29 PM   #27
cpumechanic3
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 26
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: what is max boost

Hi Mark

I tried to follow your suggestion on what vehicle to pick from the other thread
Per your post I copied and pasted below.
It tries to read VIN and fails after I select Manual, so I just wait, then selected
Sprinter and YD option.

=============================================
Get Benz_Sprinter and select it:

Autel_4.png

Choose Manual Selection:

Autel_5.png

Choose Sprinter:

Autel_6.png

Both 901.6.... and YD.... work but YD... works with more modules:

===========================================

If I then try to select the transmission module directly, it gives me the error.
If I select the "electronic transmission option just above transmssion" it reads.

Since I have had this vehicle for several years, and never had any issues, except the random LHM stuff.. I am likely going to try your suggestion of just deleting the stored codes and then driving the rig to see which ones re-appear.

I did notice that my backup camera was getting confused and staying on after I shift from reverse to drive and now that the Autel told me to check my backup lights, I find that both sides are blown... so those will get replaced.

Did you ever get rid of your LHM issue?

Thanks again for the fast reply.. will keep updating this thread as I slowly trouble shoot my LHM issue.

CPU
cpumechanic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 06:30 PM   #28
marklg
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Arizona Desert
Posts: 770
Thanks: 134
Thanked 313 Times in 241 Posts
Default Re: what is max boost

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpumechanic3 View Post
Hi Mark

I tried to follow your suggestion on what vehicle to pick from the other thread
Per your post I copied and pasted below.
It tries to read VIN and fails after I select Manual, so I just wait, then selected
Sprinter and YD option.

=============================================
Get Benz_Sprinter and select it:

Autel_4.png

Choose Manual Selection:

Autel_5.png

Choose Sprinter:

Autel_6.png

Both 901.6.... and YD.... work but YD... works with more modules:

===========================================

If I then try to select the transmission module directly, it gives me the error.
If I select the "electronic transmission option just above transmssion" it reads.

Since I have had this vehicle for several years, and never had any issues, except the random LHM stuff.. I am likely going to try your suggestion of just deleting the stored codes and then driving the rig to see which ones re-appear.

I did notice that my backup camera was getting confused and staying on after I shift from reverse to drive and now that the Autel told me to check my backup lights, I find that both sides are blown... so those will get replaced.

Did you ever get rid of your LHM issue?

Thanks again for the fast reply.. will keep updating this thread as I slowly trouble shoot my LHM issue.

CPU
Can't hurt to try 901 also.

My LHM happens every 1000 miles or so. Very hard to reproduce. I have one more hose to replace, but happening so rarely, it is hard to know it is fixed.

Regards,

Mark
marklg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 06:53 PM   #29
cpumechanic3
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 26
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: what is max boost

Ok so based on reading your prior threads, you have a 2006 Dodge like I do, and are able to read BOTH of the transmission options under YD, while it appears that I am NOT able to do that with my 2006 Dodge.

I'lll try some other options as you suggest.

You also asked about the T21 recall.. Called Dodge 800 number who referred me to local dealer who said they could do it. When I tried to get them to explain agree to cover a worst case scenario (ECU no longer working), or other .. they said.. Well.. you may go home with a check engine light on after we do the recall. I said that's not a good outcome, they agreed and said "doing the recall is completely up to you" unquote.. and if you have issues, you can call the dodge 800 number.

They also could not tell me how many of these recalls they had successfully completed.

So.. I wasn't impressed, and the T21 recall for my rig in on hold.

Thanks for your fast feedback.

CPU
cpumechanic3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 07:39 PM   #30
Nautamaran
2004 140Ē SHC U.S. T1N
 
Nautamaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 919
Thanked 1,782 Times in 1,200 Posts
Default Re: what is max boost

Since none of your canbus errors are current, I too would simply make a note and clear them. These can be set by a low voltage event, but engine wouldn’t start if the canbus wasn’t functioning...
I also subscribe to MWD’s boost overshoot theory, so I would keep looking for a leak in the induction hoses and joints. A small leak wouldn’t necessarily show up as a “abnormal” MAF value, and the turbo setting can compensate to a point, though the hunting behaviour I experienced demonstrated how broadly the ECM can search for a turbo/egr setting before it sets a code?
It’s possible you’ve got a wiring fault that is messing up the turbo actuator command, but that’s a pulse-width signal and pretty robust. Still, like the EGR command the ECM sets the pwm value and assumes it is being obeyed, watching for feedback in the MAF and MAP sensor values. There’s no direct position signal back to the ECM. If the turbo overshoots so would the MAP and the ecm would notice and stop using the turbo.

-dave

Added: both my AP200 and MD802 list many extra modules. I assume the “transmission” option is for the semi-automatic Sprintshift controller, while the “electronic transmission” option targets the NAG1 module. (similar to ABS appearing alongside ESP, you’ll have one or the other, not both)

Last edited by Nautamaran; 11-17-2019 at 07:44 PM.
Nautamaran is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nautamaran For This Useful Post:
cpumechanic3 (11-18-2019)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.