Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > Regional Discussions > Australia, New Zealand, and Asia Pacific


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2019, 11:02 AM   #1
IMAC
IMac
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Cant work this one out

Can anyone shed any light or offer some advice if you've time.

In Aus with a 904 Sprinter 612.981.

My turbo boost works much better on a cool morning or evening than in the middle of a hot day, where the boost performance drops off guesstimation of up to 40%

I have a boost guage mounted on the dash.

Ive checked the wires of both boost temp and pressure sensors and all five wires have no earth leaks and have no breaks / open circuits.

The temp sensor resistance is responsive to temperature change (bic lighter) and 5volts at the supply.

The boost sensor has 5 volts at the supply both return variables have voltage fluctuation measured with a digital meter when rpm varies.

Can anyone comment on any possible calibrations / codings for the boost controls including the sensors and or vacuum solenoid.

And if so does one need a trip to a Dealer for their diagnostics gear.

Thanks


IMac
IMAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 11:24 AM   #2
Cheyenne
UK 2004 T1N 313CDi
 
Cheyenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 2,979
Thanks: 141
Thanked 1,867 Times in 1,289 Posts
Default Re: Cant work this one out

Are any codes stored?

Can you watch Live Data for the boost actuator solenoid?
__________________
2004 UK Spec 313CDi (OM611 2.2 litre 4 Cylinder Manual Non-ABS)
Auto-Trail 'Cheyenne' Coachbuilt Motorhome
36,000 miles from New

Sprinter reference info site http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference/
Cheyenne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 11:51 AM   #3
Eric Experience
 
Eric Experience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria Australia
Posts: 2,959
Thanks: 113
Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,075 Posts
Default Re: Cant work this one out

Imac.
You could have a vacuum leak, Where are you in Aus. Eric.
Eric Experience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 03:37 AM   #4
IMAC
IMac
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Cant work this one out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheyenne View Post
Are any codes stored?



Can you watch Live Data for the boost actuator solenoid?
Thanks for your query. Im using a delphi clone probably from uncle Mao. There are no codes showing in the error code but the are a ****load of what would seem to be old codes stored, dont know much about the latter or there possible effects.
Thanks Ian MacDonald

IMac
IMAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 03:43 AM   #5
IMAC
IMac
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Cant work this one out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Experience View Post
Imac.
You could have a vacuum leak, Where are you in Aus. Eric.
Thanks Eric.
Ive put a vac guage on the system from tube that is connected to the vacuum control unit and it comes down to 28 inches I stopped the motor and it held the 28 for well over 1hr.
But Im unsure of how long it is supposed to take to get down to max vac, though from cold start if one starts the motor then go stright to check the vnt linkage position, its all the way down. I guess thats about 20 second or less.
Thanks

IMac
IMAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 03:50 AM   #6
IMAC
IMac
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Cant work this one out

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMAC View Post
Thanks for your query. Im using a delphi clone probably from uncle Mao. There are no codes showing in the error code but the are a ****load of what would seem to be old codes stored, dont know much about the latter or there possible effects.
Thanks Ian MacDonald

IMac
Ill check out the live data issue and get back to you


IMac
IMAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 12:10 PM   #7
IMAC
IMac
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Cant work this one out

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMAC View Post
Thanks for your query. Im using a delphi clone probably from uncle Mao. There are no codes showing in the error code but the are a ****load of what would seem to be old codes stored, dont know much about the latter or there possible effects.
Thanks Ian MacDonald

IMac
Hey Cheyenne.
The ****load of old codes is probably the software version number for the bosch build for the ECU.
There are no diagnostic trouble codes at all.
I checked it out again today at 1pm when things were a bit warmer but only about 24degC ambient and sure enough the boost performance was much lower than at 7am when it was about 18degC
Mmmmmmm
IMAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 10:07 AM   #8
Iggy66
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Central Coast NSW
Posts: 235
Thanks: 43
Thanked 89 Times in 73 Posts
Default Re: Cant work this one out

Does it depend on fresh or recirculate air position
Iggy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 11:25 PM   #9
IMAC
IMac
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: Cant work this one out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy66 View Post
Does it depend on fresh or recirculate air position
No there is no vacuum leak at the air recirculation actuator. Im sure its in the control side, but I dont have any info about testing the circuitry without an mb star diagnostics tool.
Thanks 4 your feedback

IMac
IMAC is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.