Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > VS30 Sprinters > VS30 Write-Ups

VS30 Write-Ups Help other VS30 owners by posting your experience working on your Sprinter.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2020, 07:22 PM   #11
cacaw
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 973
Thanks: 920
Thanked 357 Times in 247 Posts
Default Re: VS30 Espar S2 D2

Quote:
Originally Posted by elMano View Post
Can you tell me what you ended up using for ground?...
I used the driver's seat base bolt and it seems to be a good ground, but then there's this from the BEG page 252 that you referenced... "The use of any other ground bolts may lead to malfunctions of safety systems. This in turn can lead to the failure of components or safety-relevant components and to fault messages in the instrument cluster."
cacaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 09:19 PM   #12
Wreckingcrewsdad
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: SoCalif
Posts: 91
Thanks: 101
Thanked 28 Times in 21 Posts
Default Re: VS30 Espar S2 D2

Quote:
Originally Posted by elMano View Post
Great information.

Can you tell me what you ended up using for ground? Official driver seat area ground bold (BEG page 252) -or- base of passenger as someone suggested?? I am guessing that either one will need a ring to fit an M6 size bolt.

** Worth mentioning to anyone reading this thread is that bolt size for the A1 slot in the fuse box for auxiliary battery is M6... BEG page #247.
I ran 2awg pos+ lead from A1 slot on f150 to a blue sea fuse panel above crew window. 2awg neg- runs back down to a unused factory 8mm welded insert in lower driver side b-pillar. Two reasons, one, getting wires out of seat base and up b pillar is tedious. And two, I donít have to get into drivers seat base again, just pop off pillar trim if I need to access it.
Yes A1 is 6mm and A2 is 8mm. I believe the seat base are 8mm also?
Wreckingcrewsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wreckingcrewsdad For This Useful Post:
elMano (02-14-2020)
Old 02-13-2020, 09:26 PM   #13
Wreckingcrewsdad
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: SoCalif
Posts: 91
Thanks: 101
Thanked 28 Times in 21 Posts
Default Re: VS30 Espar S2 D2

Quote:
Originally Posted by cacaw View Post
Thanks for starting this thread.

Months ago I rushed through the installation and everything seemed to be going well but I've never been able to fully start the heater. Now, the Easy Start Pro control is working normally but neither the pump nor the heater (nor fans) are turning on.

Heatso recommended that I do a factory reset and then remove and reinstall the two fuses, the 20 amp first (heart power up), then wait 20 seconds and put in the 5 amp (controller) fuse. This start-up order facilitates the exchange of information between the components.

No luck so far, and I have to find time to remove the driver's seat every time I want to try troubleshooting it.

Earlier threads talk about a control module "lockout" so I'm wondering if I need to reset the heater somehow.

I'm getting Error Memory codes P000301, P000200, P00012b, and P00012a but the Control Unit error messages shown in the instruction manual are in the format "1 Ext. Temp Sensor Defective" and I can't find any documentation on error codes.

Hoping that next time I try rebooting by removing the fuses, it works properly. If I were going to do the installation over again, I'd make the fuses more easily accessible.
Certiantly no expert in Espars but I would first check fuel system.... connections, kinks? Gaps within connections? and then prime the pump. Use a baster or syringe and draw fuel thruogh line. Then reinstall fuse.
Wreckingcrewsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wreckingcrewsdad For This Useful Post:
cacaw (02-13-2020)
Old 02-13-2020, 09:33 PM   #14
sanomechanic
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Clemente Ca
Posts: 632
Thanks: 117
Thanked 225 Times in 169 Posts
Default Re: VS30 Espar S2 D2

Quote:
Originally Posted by cacaw View Post
I used the driver's seat base bolt and it seems to be a good ground, but then there's this from the BEG page 252 that you referenced... "The use of any other ground bolts may lead to malfunctions of safety systems. This in turn can lead to the failure of components or safety-relevant components and to fault messages in the instrument cluster."
A Ground is a Ground...As long as the connection is tight,clean and no paint to cause resistance. Any ground to body/chassis will be fine
sanomechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sanomechanic For This Useful Post:
cacaw (02-13-2020)
Old 02-13-2020, 09:35 PM   #15
sanomechanic
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Clemente Ca
Posts: 632
Thanks: 117
Thanked 225 Times in 169 Posts
Default Re: VS30 Espar S2 D2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wreckingcrewsdad View Post
Certiantly no expert in Espars but I would first check fuel system.... connections, kinks? Gaps within connections? and then prime the pump. Use a baster or syringe and draw fuel thruogh line. Then reinstall fuse.
It took about 10 starts to get mine working. Guess it had to purge all the air from system. It works flawlessly now.
sanomechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 10:05 PM   #16
cacaw
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 973
Thanks: 920
Thanked 357 Times in 247 Posts
Default Re: VS30 Espar S2 D2

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanomechanic View Post
It took about 10 starts to get mine working. Guess it had to purge all the air from system. It works flawlessly now.
The reason I think mine might be locked out is that, even after a Factory Reset of the controller, I can't hear the fans and fuel pump spinning on startup like they used to.

There are basic troubleshooting steps for the earlier models that showed how to test each connection and component but I can't find that for the S2 D2. In one troubleshooting checklist from years ago, they mention how to reset the lockout by touching a couple of wires together.

Heatso is good with technical support - I just have to devote a morning to troubleshooting.
cacaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 04:23 AM   #17
sanomechanic
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Clemente Ca
Posts: 632
Thanks: 117
Thanked 225 Times in 169 Posts
Default Re: VS30 Espar S2 D2

Quote:
Originally Posted by cacaw View Post
The reason I think mine might be locked out is that, even after a Factory Reset of the controller, I can't hear the fans and fuel pump spinning on startup like they used to.

There are basic troubleshooting steps for the earlier models that showed how to test each connection and component but I can't find that for the S2 D2. In one troubleshooting checklist from years ago, they mention how to reset the lockout by touching a couple of wires together.

Heatso is good with technical support - I just have to devote a morning to troubleshooting.
I have the quick start pro. It has a self diagnosis screen.
sanomechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 12:28 AM   #18
cacaw
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ventura, California
Posts: 973
Thanks: 920
Thanked 357 Times in 247 Posts
Default Re: VS30 Espar S2 D2

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanomechanic View Post
I have the quick start pro. It has a self diagnosis screen.
Settings/Wrench Icon/Heater Unit - No Errors
Settings/Wrench Icon/Control Unit - No Errors

Tried reset and factory reset a bunch of times and no response from the pump or the heater.

But, I'm still just kind of floundering and taking quick looks at it when I have a moment. I'm sure it's something simple and that I'll find it eventually.
cacaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 03:49 PM   #19
sanomechanic
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Clemente Ca
Posts: 632
Thanks: 117
Thanked 225 Times in 169 Posts
Default Re: VS30 Espar S2 D2

Quote:
Originally Posted by cacaw View Post
Settings/Wrench Icon/Heater Unit - No Errors
Settings/Wrench Icon/Control Unit - No Errors

Tried reset and factory reset a bunch of times and no response from the pump or the heater.

But, I'm still just kind of floundering and taking quick looks at it when I have a moment. I'm sure it's something simple and that I'll find it eventually.
When I did my install...I too thought the pump was not working " not clicking" Then after several cycles. Everything synced up. When you turn it on. Set it heat at 80 degrees for 30 minutes.. Just walk away and let it error out on its won. Turn it off and do it again. It took about 10 cycles then mine started working. Think it has to purge the air from system. When it would error out. The fault would be a fuel related code.

https://youtu.be/2ReE4rXC4aU
sanomechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sanomechanic For This Useful Post:
cacaw (02-16-2020)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.