Alignment question - RV's are different?

SweetSam

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here and very thankful for this forum. We just got a new -for -us RV on a Sprinter 3500 chassis. While in for EGR valve replacement (intermittent sudden loss of power - no fun :(), I asked about wheel alignment. The service advisor said that with the weight of RV, the "normal Sprinter specs don't work very well. This is the first I heard that! I found a orderable configuration on MB Sprinter that shows a GVWR of 11300 same as my rig. Wouldn't they have alignment settings for that van?

Thanks for your consideration and guidance.

Mike DZ

2016 View 24V (2015 3500)
Re: Alignment question

Hmm, I had my local MB dealer do an alignment on my View - although pricey, they didn't have a problem with it and it solved the tire wear problem... As long as the vehicle is loaded like you are going to use it, weight, per se, does not change the alignment process.

Midwestdrifter

Engineer In Residence

The sprinter front end is nothing special, align it light any medium duty truck. Toe and camber should be set using typical guidelines. Mercedes allowable tolerance for caber and to is probably a bit more than desirable.

sprinters with maxed out (or overweight) front ends are possible on some RV builds. This can cause the front end to sag lower than designed, resulting in undesirable geometry.

mikeme

2015 LTV IB: 2015 3500 V6

MB publishes service procedures, and they specify what the alignment spec (camber) is based on the actual front end load. it varies depending on how much load is on the front axle

if the dealer does not want to do a proper alignment, perhaps he can recommend a qualified dealer capable of doing the job.

ernie1

Just had my 2017 Sprinter,2018 Class C motorhome front end aligned and was done according to Mercedes specs. It was a 4 wheel alignment and included two new camber bolts and cost $450+!!!! What a rip!

mikeme

2015 LTV IB: 2015 3500 V6