Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > Sprinter-Based RV's & Conversions > Sprinter-Based RV Brands > Airstream > Sprinter Westfalia


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2018, 06:30 AM   #1
MrTomacco
Mr. Tommaco
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 150
Thanks: 11
Thanked 26 Times in 19 Posts
Default Propane gauge wires?

I noticed a pair of wires coming from the propane dial. Has anyone connected them to something? Is it a low level warning contact or a 0 to full variable output?
MrTomacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 11:14 AM   #2
mikeme
2015 LTV IB: 2015 3500 V6
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/
Posts: 1,182
Thanks: 264
Thanked 610 Times in 422 Posts
Default Re: Propane gauge wires?

could be a resistive sensor that varies with level.

https://www.garnetinstruments.com/wp...ual_v3.2.1.pdf

is installed by LTV. displays LP (Propane) level inside the cabin.
__________________
Mike

"Free advice is worth what you pay for it. Sometimes.."
mikeme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 02:04 PM   #3
OldWest
T1N Westfalia
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,048
Thanks: 212
Thanked 599 Times in 452 Posts
Default Re: Propane gauge wires?

No idea.

Our propane tank is a Manchester tank. On the Manchester Tank website, they describe various gauges, including "Sight Gauge – UL listed (standard dial chamber or 0-90 ohm remote sender optional)."

http://www.mantank.com/products/rv-p...s-accessories/

The photo of the remote sender version looks different from ours and appears to be a separate complete unit (versus an add on).

https://www.amazon.com/Manchester-Ta...SIN=B003D3WPGS

Mine is a snap on (fell off by itself once). Not that accurate. Apparently, there is a magnetic float mechanism in the propane tank which affects the sight gauge (so no direct connection, is this correct?). Probably a G12653 gauge?

https://www.amazon.com/Manchester-Ta...SIN=B005GY9UTC

No mention of the wires.

Last edited by OldWest; 06-23-2018 at 02:27 PM. Reason: Add Amazon link.
OldWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 03:43 PM   #4
MrTomacco
Mr. Tommaco
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 150
Thanks: 11
Thanked 26 Times in 19 Posts
Default Re: Propane gauge wires?

Here is a 0 to 90 ohm fuel gauge to match the output of the sensor: https://www.amazon.com/Equus-7362-Le...ohm+fuel+gauge
MrTomacco is offline   Reply With Quote

Tags
gauge, propane

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.