Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > General Forums > Sprinter Talk > Scanners


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2019, 08:44 PM   #1
damien89
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 83
Thanks: 32
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Anyone managed to connect a scan gauge to 16+ sprinter?

Tried connecting mine to my 17 euro spec sprinter but unfortunately stays in the connecting screen and then shuts off. Anyone experience this?
__________________
2017 Sprinter 516cdi OM 651 7G-Tronic LWB 'LongTail'
damien89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 11:33 PM   #2
autostaretx
Erratic Member
 
autostaretx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 18,471
Thanks: 3,225
Thanked 8,494 Times in 6,158 Posts
Default Re: Anyone managed to connect a scan gauge to 16+ sprinter?

In another thread someone quoted the LinearLogic troubleshooting information.

Primarily it was "manually set the communication protocol" instead of leaving it to snoop it out on its own.

No one reported "results" of that hint ... so use the buttons to get to the appropriate SETUP screen, and try the different protocols.

And then please report back.

--dick
__________________
2005 T1N 118" Freightliner 2500 Passenger Wagon (2.7L, 15" tires, standard (short) roof)
Get YOUR Sprinter's full configuration datacard by entering your VIN to https://www.datamb.com/
http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference <-- lots of service documentation, Thanks to Jens Moller and Arnie_Oli
((as always: this post may go through a couple of post-posting edits... so maybe give it ten minutes before commenting))
autostaretx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 09:26 AM   #3
Cheyenne
UK 2004 T1N 313CDi
 
Cheyenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 3,372
Thanks: 162
Thanked 2,098 Times in 1,454 Posts
Default Re: Anyone managed to connect a scan gauge to 16+ sprinter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by autostaretx View Post
In another thread someone quoted the LinearLogic troubleshooting information.

Primarily it was "manually set the communication protocol" instead of leaving it to snoop it out on its own.

No one reported "results" of that hint ... so use the buttons to get to the appropriate SETUP screen, and try the different protocols.

And then please report back.

--dick
Correct Dick,

It was me replying to Damien following on from his comment on post 15 of this thread...

https://sprinter-source.com/forum/sh...t=65480&page=2

His last comment then was that he was going to email Linear Logic but never posted a follow up.

Keith.
__________________
2004 UK Spec 313CDi (OM611 2.2 litre 4 Cylinder Manual Non-ABS)
Auto-Trail 'Cheyenne' Coachbuilt Motorhome
36,000 miles from New

Sprinter reference info site http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference/
Cheyenne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 11:39 AM   #4
damien89
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 83
Thanks: 32
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: Anyone managed to connect a scan gauge to 16+ sprinter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheyenne View Post
Correct Dick,

It was me replying to Damien following on from his comment on post 15 of this thread...

https://sprinter-source.com/forum/sh...t=65480&page=2

His last comment then was that he was going to email Linear Logic but never posted a follow up.

Keith.
Hi everyone, i did email linear logic and there response was to try another scangauge, which i did and the result was the same (stays connecting), at that point they suggested that i take it to someone that has more sophisticated obd reading hardware and see if we manage to make a connection with obd system. Now when i was buying the sprinter the dealership hooked the xentry computer and worked perfectly. So im beginning to believe that mercedes has devised a way to keep us out of the system.
__________________
2017 Sprinter 516cdi OM 651 7G-Tronic LWB 'LongTail'
damien89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 01:19 PM   #5
Winterbagoal
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada/US
Posts: 525
Thanks: 179
Thanked 130 Times in 107 Posts
Default Re: Anyone managed to connect a scan gauge to 16+ sprinter?

Does it connect to a different vehicle's OBDII? Can you try another (gas powered) vehicle to see if it's the SGII, or the Sprinter's OBDII ?
Also, mine works with my Sprinter cab chassis, but I sent it to Linear Logic to get the firmware/software upgraded/flashed to 4.22+ level so it would work with the custom X-Gauges created by G. Chappell and James DeLong (of LL).
__________________
Mike.
2018 (2017 Sprinter Cab Chassis) N24V + 2016 JKU (sold @ ????)
2016 Sunstar 26HE, V10, 3V, 6 Speed (sold @ 4600 miles)
2002 Roadtrek C190P (sold @ 315,000kms)
Winterbagoal is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Winterbagoal For This Useful Post:
gchapell (01-07-2019), Vailcomp (02-26-2019)
Old 01-06-2019, 03:41 PM   #6
autostaretx
Erratic Member
 
autostaretx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 18,471
Thanks: 3,225
Thanked 8,494 Times in 6,158 Posts
Default Re: Anyone managed to connect a scan gauge to 16+ sprinter?

Damien: did you *try* forcing the communications protocol?

(if you have a 2nd pre-2016 NCV3 available, you can snoop the ScanGauge to see what protocol IT chose)

--dick
__________________
2005 T1N 118" Freightliner 2500 Passenger Wagon (2.7L, 15" tires, standard (short) roof)
Get YOUR Sprinter's full configuration datacard by entering your VIN to https://www.datamb.com/
http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference <-- lots of service documentation, Thanks to Jens Moller and Arnie_Oli
((as always: this post may go through a couple of post-posting edits... so maybe give it ten minutes before commenting))
autostaretx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 05:10 PM   #7
damien89
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 83
Thanks: 32
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: Anyone managed to connect a scan gauge to 16+ sprinter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterbagoal View Post
Does it connect to a different vehicle's OBDII? Can you try another (gas powered) vehicle to see if it's the SGII, or the Sprinter's OBDII ?
Also, mine works with my Sprinter cab chassis, but I sent it to Linear Logic to get the firmware/software upgraded/flashed to 4.22+ level so it would work with the custom X-Gauges created by G. Chappell and James DeLong (of LL).
Yes it does, the other scangauge that i tried works all day long on my transit.
__________________
2017 Sprinter 516cdi OM 651 7G-Tronic LWB 'LongTail'
damien89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 05:11 PM   #8
damien89
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 83
Thanks: 32
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: Anyone managed to connect a scan gauge to 16+ sprinter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by autostaretx View Post
Damien: did you *try* forcing the communications protocol?

(if you have a 2nd pre-2016 NCV3 available, you can snoop the ScanGauge to see what protocol IT chose)

--dick
How do i force the communications protocol?
__________________
2017 Sprinter 516cdi OM 651 7G-Tronic LWB 'LongTail'
damien89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 05:12 PM   #9
Cheyenne
UK 2004 T1N 313CDi
 
Cheyenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 3,372
Thanks: 162
Thanked 2,098 Times in 1,454 Posts
Default Re: Anyone managed to connect a scan gauge to 16+ sprinter?

But will this ScanGauge work on your Transit or the one off your Transit work on your Sprinter?
__________________
2004 UK Spec 313CDi (OM611 2.2 litre 4 Cylinder Manual Non-ABS)
Auto-Trail 'Cheyenne' Coachbuilt Motorhome
36,000 miles from New

Sprinter reference info site http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference/
Cheyenne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 05:14 PM   #10
Winterbagoal
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Canada/US
Posts: 525
Thanks: 179
Thanked 130 Times in 107 Posts
Default Re: Anyone managed to connect a scan gauge to 16+ sprinter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by damien89 View Post
Yes it does, the other scangauge that i tried works all day long on my transit.
So, you have 2 X Scangauges? You say "the other scangauge" works on another vehicle. Your Transit.
I meant you should try the same SGII that won't connect to your Sprinter, on a different vehicle, preferably gas, but not critical.
Unless I'm misreading your comments.

Dammit Cheyenne, you asked my question.
__________________
Mike.
2018 (2017 Sprinter Cab Chassis) N24V + 2016 JKU (sold @ ????)
2016 Sunstar 26HE, V10, 3V, 6 Speed (sold @ 4600 miles)
2002 Roadtrek C190P (sold @ 315,000kms)
Winterbagoal is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.