Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > T1N Sprinters > T1N Talk

T1N Talk General Discussions related to T1N Sprinters.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2020, 02:31 AM   #41
jdgrand
2006 Dodge 2500 RV
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Astoria, OR USA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 13
Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: No Power to Instrument Cluster

UPDATE:
I was able to get under the van today to see if I could access connector without dropping the tank but no go. I did see a lot of crap on top of the tank likely left by some critter (see photo).

Next steps remove fuel and lower tank. Reviewing previous threads for how-to drain fuel. Hoping for more dry weather tomorrow.

Jim
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2151.jpg (95.3 KB, 43 views)
__________________
Jim

2006 T1N Dodge 2500 with 2007 Great West Vans RV conversion (Sprinter Legend)
1983 Mercedes 300TD (OM617)
2006 Mercedes E320 CDI (OM648) (Sold)
1984 Mercedes 240D Manual (OM616) (Sold)
1978 Mercedes 240D Automatic (OM616) (Sold)
Plus a few Subarus in between.
jdgrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2020, 04:05 AM   #42
koenb
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 87
Thanks: 11
Thanked 35 Times in 29 Posts
Default Re: No Power to Instrument Cluster

Bummer, odds are you would need to drop the tank anyways to fix the connector. I wonder if there is any other rodent induced damage to the wiring in that area? While the tank is down it would be prudent to inspect all the hard to access brake lines for corrosion, the attachment straps for rust, all the fuel lines for brittleness and deterioration, and the seal/lock ring on the fuel pump. If anything looks questionable, now is the time to replace.
koenb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to koenb For This Useful Post:
Aqua Puttana (01-26-2020)
Old 01-26-2020, 06:33 AM   #43
billintomahawk
'02 2.7 T!N Freightliner
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,231
Thanks: 1,255
Thanked 494 Times in 342 Posts
Default Re: No Power to Instrument Cluster

If you drop the tank don't forget it is attached to the vehicle by the filler pipe....

Like I did.

bill in tomahawk
__________________
billintomahawk
2002 T1N Freightliner
OM 612 2.7L
Transporter 1 Neu 154HP
2500 140"WB, low top
Tank, the repurposed van
https://www.sprinter-source.com/foru...ad.php?t=76877
billintomahawk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to billintomahawk For This Useful Post:
Aqua Puttana (01-26-2020)
Old 01-27-2020, 01:31 AM   #44
jdgrand
2006 Dodge 2500 RV
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Astoria, OR USA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 13
Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: No Power to Instrument Cluster

UPDATE:

Got the tank drained using a jumper wire where fuel pump relay plugs in (I went from 3 to 5)to power the in-tank pump. Dropping the tank was quite easy using a floor jack. I didn't forget the filler pipe connection but did forget the vent pipe connection until it wouldn't drop anymore.

As you can see from the photos some rat made the top of the tank into a nest/toilet. One wire has the insulation chewed off -- not sure which one yet as it started raining and getting dark.

Got most of that crap off the tank before quitting. That small plastic bottle was banana liqueur (99 proof) -- bottom was chewed through -- must have been quite a party.

Hope to be able to inspect wires and clean up under the van tomorrow.

Jim
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2181.jpg (156.3 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2180.jpg (156.6 KB, 44 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2178.jpg (66.1 KB, 41 views)
__________________
Jim

2006 T1N Dodge 2500 with 2007 Great West Vans RV conversion (Sprinter Legend)
1983 Mercedes 300TD (OM617)
2006 Mercedes E320 CDI (OM648) (Sold)
1984 Mercedes 240D Manual (OM616) (Sold)
1978 Mercedes 240D Automatic (OM616) (Sold)
Plus a few Subarus in between.
jdgrand is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jdgrand For This Useful Post:
Aqua Puttana (01-27-2020), billintomahawk (01-27-2020), Nautamaran (01-27-2020)
Old 01-27-2020, 06:58 AM   #45
Nautamaran
2004 140 SHC U.S. T1N
 
Nautamaran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,915
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 2,032 Times in 1,312 Posts
Default Re: No Power to Instrument Cluster

Yuck. What a mess...
Be thorough - I believe the ABS sensors run past there too?

-dave
Nautamaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 01:05 PM   #46
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 11,374
Thanks: 2,238
Thanked 7,541 Times in 4,770 Posts
Default Re: No Power to Instrument Cluster

Agreed, check the bundle that runs along the drivers side frame/body tube.

That mini bottle of liquor gave me a good laugh. The LD50 for alcohol is about 12g/kg of body weight. That bottle was about 100g? So 50g of alcohol. So enough alcohol to kill a 5kg rat! When life is short, YOLO?
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 187,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 02:23 PM   #47
Aqua Puttana
Poly - Thread Finder
 
Aqua Puttana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Falls of Niagara, USA
Posts: 25,675
Thanks: 13,393
Thanked 14,587 Times in 9,266 Posts
Default Re: No Power to Instrument Cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdgrand View Post
...

As you can see from the photos some rat made the top of the tank into a nest/toilet. One wire has the insulation chewed off -- not sure which one yet as it started raining and getting dark.

Got most of that crap off the tank before quitting. That small plastic bottle was banana liqueur (99 proof) -- bottom was chewed through -- must have been quite a party.

...


Frickin' vermin. Most are courteous enough to stay in the engine area. Maybe they don't have a drinking problem.

Here's to hoping that the IC returns to normal after these repairs.

vic

RatBull.jpg
__________________
DAD NAS (N. Amer. Spec) 2004 140 2500 >330,000+ mi. Arctic Whitewash Brush-tone Grey
2006 Freightliner 140 2500HC >183,000+ mi. Arctic Whitewash (Spotted Snow Leopard accents)
"My opinion and worth everything you'll never pay for it." assumed.
Anyone can hold the helm when the sea is calm. Publilius Syrus
"There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't." HaWiiLuVeR
16 ounces of unnecessary prevention can be worth a pound of manure.
Aqua Puttana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 02:58 AM   #48
jdgrand
2006 Dodge 2500 RV
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Astoria, OR USA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 13
Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: No Power to Instrument Cluster

I don't think that rat needs wings where it went.

Black wire to fuel pump had its insulation chewed off. There is a 1/4 nick through insulation on blue/black wire (fuel level sensor signal +). The other two wires look fine. Connector looks fine. Harness is dirty but otherwise OK -- but I do need to replace several broken (chewed through) wire ties that clip into frame.

Regarding the Instrument Cluster: It remains dead on bench test as described by Nautamaran earlier in the thread. There are no visually obvious faults in the IC but electronics circuit board diagnosis and repair are outside my abilities. Can anyone recommend a IC repair service/shop either in Portland or Seattle or online or is replacement with a used IC a better option?


Jim
__________________
Jim

2006 T1N Dodge 2500 with 2007 Great West Vans RV conversion (Sprinter Legend)
1983 Mercedes 300TD (OM617)
2006 Mercedes E320 CDI (OM648) (Sold)
1984 Mercedes 240D Manual (OM616) (Sold)
1978 Mercedes 240D Automatic (OM616) (Sold)
Plus a few Subarus in between.
jdgrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 02:01 PM   #49
koenb
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 87
Thanks: 11
Thanked 35 Times in 29 Posts
Default Re: No Power to Instrument Cluster

Those pesky rats. Glad it's just going to be a simple wire repair. Make sure to remove the section of chewed wire and splice in new segments, it would be hard to tell how intact all the strands of copper are. Also, it probably wouldn't hurt to wait and see if the IC comes back to life after repairing the wires. You could temporarily install the sender connector and pull the pump relay to test.
koenb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to koenb For This Useful Post:
jdgrand (01-29-2020)
Old 01-29-2020, 02:28 PM   #50
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 11,374
Thanks: 2,238
Thanked 7,541 Times in 4,770 Posts
Default Re: No Power to Instrument Cluster

I believe you can swap a used cluster from a van with the same options. The mileage wont match though. You would need to retain the SKREEM from your existing cluster.

wheelbase
ESP or ABS
Engine type
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 187,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com

Last edited by Midwestdrifter; 01-29-2020 at 03:37 PM.
Midwestdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Midwestdrifter For This Useful Post:
jdgrand (01-29-2020), Nautamaran (01-30-2020)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.