Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > General Forums > Sprinter Talk

Sprinter Talk General discussion about anything and everything about Sprinters.
SubForums: Events Scanners


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2019, 05:01 PM   #1
hkpierce
'02 140 Hi BlueBlk Pass
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,649
Thanks: 574
Thanked 1,530 Times in 697 Posts
Default Bad torque wrench readings

I had suspicions that my no-name 3/8 click torque wrench was not correct after some damage to the van that should not have happened if.... .

So after the fact I tested it on my bench. Allegedly the range is from 10 in/lb to 800 in/lb (0.8 ft/lb to 66.7 ft/lb).

Capture.JPG
When I adjusted the adjustment screw for accuracy at 10.5 ft/lb, the reading for 39.55ft/lb was 56.25ft/lb.

Time for a new torque wrench. While I have not done it yet, I think I will look for one that has a narrower range of values, and not a no-name.

My last job I used a torsion torque wrench which was both easier and quicker to test its calibration, even it its exactness was not equal to what a "click" might be.
hkpierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 08:47 PM   #2
lindenengineering
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 12,705
Thanks: 3,130
Thanked 10,671 Times in 5,425 Posts
Default Re: Bad torque wrench readings

Quote:
Originally Posted by hkpierce View Post
I had suspicions that my no-name 3/8 click torque wrench was not correct after some damage to the van that should not have happened if.... .

So after the fact I tested it on my bench. Allegedly the range is from 10 in/lb to 800 in/lb (0.8 ft/lb to 66.7 ft/lb).

Attachment 120988
When I adjusted the adjustment screw for accuracy at 10.5 ft/lb, the reading for 39.55ft/lb was 56.25ft/lb.

Time for a new torque wrench. While I have not done it yet, I think I will look for one that has a narrower range of values, and not a no-name.

My last job I used a torsion torque wrench which was both easier and quicker to test its calibration, even it its exactness was not equal to what a "click" might be.
For professional reasoning I send all my torque wrenches out for industry recognized industry written certification. Cost is between $85 to $105 per test/certification.
Dennis
lindenengineering is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lindenengineering For This Useful Post:
hkpierce (11-10-2019), VanGoSki (11-10-2019)
Old 11-10-2019, 09:24 PM   #3
rollerbearing
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,862
Thanks: 632
Thanked 962 Times in 666 Posts
Default Re: Bad torque wrench readings

It's also easy to check yourself if you have a vise and a luggage scale.

Clamp the square drive in the vise (rotational axis vertical). Measure the distance to the center of the handle (in feet for ft lbs). Hook the luggage scale over the handle at the center (the same spot you measured to) and pull perpendicularly. Note the luggage scale reading when wrench clicks.

Distance in feet times scale reading in lbs = ft lbs torque

https://www.amazon.com/Samsonite-777...6-c77c2419e221


They also have strain gauge digital luggage scales for not much more.

You can check the scale by weighing something with it - 5 gallons of water - some other object you know the weight of - something you confirmed on a bathroom scale etc.

Not NIST level but a whole lot better than nothing. I usually always check mine before working on something important. I don't bother when I use it for lugs nuts etc.

Last edited by rollerbearing; 11-10-2019 at 09:33 PM.
rollerbearing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 09:58 PM   #4
Larry M
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 71
Thanks: 60
Thanked 38 Times in 27 Posts
Default Re: Bad torque wrench readings

Quote:
Originally Posted by lindenengineering View Post
For professional reasoning I send all my torque wrenches out for industry recognized industry written certification. Cost is between $85 to $105 per test/certification.
Dennis
Cheap considering the consequences. Is there one brand that has has been more accurate out of the box than others?
Larry M is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Larry M For This Useful Post:
Aqua Puttana (11-11-2019)
Old 11-11-2019, 12:38 AM   #5
lindenengineering
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 12,705
Thanks: 3,130
Thanked 10,671 Times in 5,425 Posts
Default Re: Bad torque wrench readings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry M View Post
Cheap considering the consequences. Is there one brand that has has been more accurate out of the box than others?
No!
In fact I have always swearn by Snap On & made in the USA, BUT, someone gave me a clone Snap On like wrench made in China.
Believable or not it has been the most consistent and reliable for years.
Makes you think again when you get surprises like this.
Dennis
lindenengineering is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lindenengineering For This Useful Post:
Larry M (11-11-2019)
Old 11-11-2019, 01:20 AM   #6
smiller
2008 View J (NCV3 3500)
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,542
Thanks: 535
Thanked 3,139 Times in 1,877 Posts
Default Re: Bad torque wrench readings

Quote:
Originally Posted by lindenengineering View Post
No!
In fact I have always swearn by Snap On & made in the USA, BUT, someone gave me a clone Snap On like wrench made in China.
Believable or not it has been the most consistent and reliable for years.
Makes you think again when you get surprises like this.
Dennis
I've now seen two separate tests comparing a Snap On and Harbor Freight wrench (the high-line Icon models, not the $12.99 job) and in both cases the HF unit was both more accurate and more consistent. One of the tests also had a tear-down comparison and the HF seemed at least the equal of the Snap On, at least visually, so while one could speculate that 'the Snap On lasts longer in pro service' I'm not sure what objective evidence there is to back that up.

It's a changing world. There will always be China junk of course, but they are also very successfully performing manned space missions and landing rover probes on the dark side of moon so I wouldn't be too quick to dismiss Chinese technology. As an aside, I wonder what brand torque wrenches they use?

.

Last edited by smiller; 11-11-2019 at 01:24 AM.
smiller is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to smiller For This Useful Post:
Aqua Puttana (11-11-2019), lindenengineering (11-11-2019), sailquik (11-12-2019)
Old 11-11-2019, 10:11 AM   #7
irvingj
2015 RT SS Agile (3.0L)
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Etna, NH
Posts: 1,059
Thanks: 849
Thanked 437 Times in 304 Posts
Default Re: Bad torque wrench readings

Some on this forum may be old enough to remember a time in the 50s when "Made in Japan" was actually synonymous with words like "cheap" and "junk".

By the 70s that was no longer the case, in fact their autos, stereos and cameras were world-class quality and very much in demand. Twenty years.

For better or worse, I believe China will get there in a similar fashion-- not really there yet (I still mostly avoid their products), but getting closer. They may have already nailed down the solar panel controller market....

As far as torque wrenches, yes, I've sent mine (one a 30-year-old Craftsman) out to a company called "Team Torque" to have them calibrated. PITA, but necessary if they're to be trusted.
__________________
2015 RT SS Agile, 3.0 V-6
irvingj is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to irvingj For This Useful Post:
Bobnoxious (11-12-2019)
Old 11-11-2019, 02:58 PM   #8
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 10,638
Thanks: 2,091
Thanked 7,047 Times in 4,443 Posts
Default Re: Bad torque wrench readings

In the airline industry we have mostly moved to digital torque wrenches. Easier to calibrate and more accurate, even at very low or high torque settings. They also don't suffer from temperature sensitivity like some designs can. Almost all digital units use an integral load cell. There are disk shaped units which you can attach to an existing breaker bar, ratchet for more flexibility in handle length.
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 187,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 10:30 PM   #9
lindenengineering
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 12,705
Thanks: 3,130
Thanked 10,671 Times in 5,425 Posts
Default Re: Bad torque wrench readings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midwestdrifter View Post
In the airline industry we have mostly moved to digital torque wrenches. Easier to calibrate and more accurate, even at very low or high torque settings. They also don't suffer from temperature sensitivity like some designs can. Almost all digital units use an integral load cell. There are disk shaped units which you can attach to an existing breaker bar, ratchet for more flexibility in handle length.
All of our torque wrenches for vital stuff like engine & transmission rebuilds atc are digital. That stated they still get sent out for certification annually.
Dennis
lindenengineering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 03:09 PM   #10
Bobnoxious
 
Bobnoxious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Noxville, Noxious
Posts: 15,291
Thanks: 8,615
Thanked 5,439 Times in 3,912 Posts
Default Re: Bad torque wrench readings

Quote:
Originally Posted by irvingj View Post
Some on this forum may be old enough to remember a time in the 50s when "Made in Japan" was actually synonymous with words like "cheap" and "junk".

By the 70s that was no longer the case, in fact their autos, stereos and cameras were world-class quality and very much in demand. Twenty years.

For better or worse, I believe China will get there in a similar fashion-- not really there yet (I still mostly avoid their products), but getting closer. They may have already nailed down the solar panel controller market....

As far as torque wrenches, yes, I've sent mine (one a 30-year-old Craftsman) out to a company called "Team Torque" to have them calibrated. PITA, but necessary if they're to be trusted.

That's cuz China is stealing our industry and military Secrets and sometimes with Google's and Apple's help. These corporations are treasonous sell outs. Just ask Nike.
Bobnoxious is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.