Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > T1N Sprinters > T1N Talk

T1N Talk General Discussions related to T1N Sprinters.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2019, 10:25 PM   #1
locksmith72
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 19 Posts
Default ac switch not working

Left a post awhile back, cant find it . on my 06 the AC isn't working all the time, either nice & cold or just blows hot. read that there is a solder joint om the switch board that is easy to fix. Does anyone have a clear picture of where we need to look ? Thanks Joe
locksmith72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:01 PM   #2
autostaretx
Erratic Member
 
autostaretx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 17,541
Thanks: 3,072
Thanked 7,921 Times in 5,777 Posts
Default Re: ac switch not working

I would look "under" the temperature setting knob ... it's possible the potentiometer/rheostat/variable resistor has broken the connection between its internal resistive element and the pins to the outside world (i.e. the circuit board).

When the knob is at the ends, it usually touches those pins (or presses the element to better contact) and the effect is "binary" (full hot or full cold).

There are also eBay repair people who repair the control head for a fixed-fee ($99 or $120-ish).

--dick
__________________
2005 T1N 118" Freightliner 2500 Passenger Wagon (2.7L, 15" tires, standard (short) roof)
Get YOUR Sprinter's full configuration datacard by entering your VIN to https://www.datamb.com/
http://diysprinter.co.uk/reference <-- lots of service documentation, Thanks to Jens Moller and Arnie_Oli
((as always: this post may go through a couple of post-posting edits... so maybe give it ten minutes before commenting))
autostaretx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 04:56 PM   #3
locksmith72
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 19 Posts
Default Re: ac switch not working

Thanks for the info , I have a tech who can do the repairs if we now where they need to made.. If anyone has a picture of where the contacts are , that would be of great help .Thanks
locksmith72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 08:04 PM   #4
Midwestdrifter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 10,034
Thanks: 1,960
Thanked 6,654 Times in 4,200 Posts
Default Re: ac switch not working

I can't seem to find the photo. Its hard to miss. Big black box on the back of the board, drivers side near the temp knob. Contacts are visible on the cabin side of the board, 4 large (about 0.08" diameter) passing through the board.
__________________
2004 T1N | Overland Conversion in Process Completed...For now... | 187,000 miles | 140" | High Roof | My Build Thread
Another Random Blog | http://VagariesAbound.blogspot.com
Midwestdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 02:28 PM   #5
locksmith72
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 19 Posts
Default Re: ac switch not working

looked on ebay as you suggested . seems the best way to go . thanks
locksmith72 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.