Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > NCV3 Sprinters > NCV3 Talk

NCV3 Talk General Discussions related to NCV3 Sprinters.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2019, 09:46 PM   #11
lindenengineering
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 12,477
Thanks: 3,071
Thanked 10,440 Times in 5,321 Posts
Default Re: Drain Torque Converter? - No plug NCV3

For info!
Sometimes you will come across transmissions that do NOT have plugs in torque converters .
When you see as many as 5 Sprinters daily, those with a no plug torque converter is not an unusual event.
We have even seen the same with the older T1N models.
Dennis
lindenengineering is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 10:11 PM   #12
Bobnoxious
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Noxville, Noxious
Posts: 14,807
Thanks: 8,285
Thanked 5,174 Times in 3,711 Posts
Default Re: Drain Torque Converter? - No plug NCV3

Quote:
Originally Posted by lindenengineering View Post
For info!
Sometimes you will come across transmissions that do NOT have plugs in torque converters .
When you see as many as 5 Sprinters daily, those with a no plug torque converter is not an unusual event.
We have even seen the same with the older T1N models.
Dennis
But what if it has a torque converter drain plug, should the torque converter be drained?
Bobnoxious is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 10:21 PM   #13
Bobnoxious
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Noxville, Noxious
Posts: 14,807
Thanks: 8,285
Thanked 5,174 Times in 3,711 Posts
Default Re: Drain Torque Converter? - No plug NCV3

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJPJ View Post
The great Buster Keaton view on dirt buildup along with a little rock.

Funny, the place where Buster jumps the gap was my hometown. I think Buster did all his own stunts?

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newhall_Pass
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4969.jpg (103.9 KB, 90 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4972.jpg (21.7 KB, 81 views)
Bobnoxious is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 12:11 AM   #14
showkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,425
Thanks: 578
Thanked 1,669 Times in 1,140 Posts
Default Re: Drain Torque Converter? - No plug NCV3

Torque converter drain plugs ......stopped being common place, years ago with many manufacturers.

Other manufactures with no converter drains plugs.............for routine maintenance use the drain transmission, refill, drive around the block, drain transmission, refill. Done........

Course there’s the other manufactures use the factory fill and do not recommend any transmission service of any kind. That includes no fluid changes.
__________________
2008 3500 chassis Class C built in 2010
Pulling 6x12 enclosed trailer
showkey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to showkey For This Useful Post:
Aqua Puttana (03-20-2019)
Old 03-20-2019, 12:19 AM   #15
Bobnoxious
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Noxville, Noxious
Posts: 14,807
Thanks: 8,285
Thanked 5,174 Times in 3,711 Posts
Default Re: Drain Torque Converter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lindenengineering View Post
On many applications these days especially on MB 7 speeders there is no plug on the T/C.
So you cannot drain it unless you use a special extractor machine from someone like Snap On Equipment to slurp it all out. Cost about $6500.

Ask the missus for one on a Christmas wish list perhaps?!!!
Dennis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobnoxious View Post
But what if it has a torque converter drain plug, should the torque converter be drained?

Bobnoxious is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 12:27 AM   #16
Bobnoxious
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Noxville, Noxious
Posts: 14,807
Thanks: 8,285
Thanked 5,174 Times in 3,711 Posts
Default Re: Drain Torque Converter? - No plug NCV3

Quote:
Originally Posted by showkey View Post
Torque converter drain plugs ......stopped being common place, years ago with many manufacturers.

Other manufactures with no converter drains plugs.............for routine maintenance use the drain transmission, refill, drive around the block, drain transmission, refill. Done........

Course there’s the other manufactures use the factory fill and do not recommend any transmission service of any kind. That includes no fluid changes.
Bobnoxious is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 01:05 AM   #17
mikeme
2015 LTV IB: 2015 3500 V6
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/
Posts: 1,181
Thanks: 264
Thanked 610 Times in 422 Posts
Default Re: Drain Torque Converter? - No plug NCV3

as if anyone needs another data point, I drained the torque converter, and when I went to the local MB dealer to see if they would sell me a plug, they said they would, but it is special order.

(which tells me they do not use them in regular service)
__________________
Mike

"Free advice is worth what you pay for it. Sometimes.."
mikeme is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mikeme For This Useful Post:
Bobnoxious (03-20-2019)
Old 03-20-2019, 02:11 AM   #18
Sprinter SS
 
Sprinter SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 870
Thanks: 63
Thanked 313 Times in 221 Posts
Default Re: Drain Torque Converter? - No plug NCV3

My 2012 Sprinter (V6/5spd) had a torque converter drain plug. My 2011 GL350 (OM642/7 speed) has torque converter drain plug. Have not gotten to drain my 16 model van yet.
Sprinter SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 02:31 AM   #19
Bobnoxious
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Noxville, Noxious
Posts: 14,807
Thanks: 8,285
Thanked 5,174 Times in 3,711 Posts
Default Re: Drain Torque Converter? - No plug NCV3

Well, I worked for the gooberment and learned early, if it ain't supported with documentation, it's worthless.

Let's see what Mother says...OH SNAP! She says drain the torque converter.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4982.jpg (136.0 KB, 91 views)
Bobnoxious is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Bobnoxious For This Useful Post:
CJPJ (03-20-2019), levedr (03-20-2019), NBB (03-23-2019), TooMuchHair (04-11-2019)
Old 03-20-2019, 03:43 AM   #20
lindenengineering
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 12,477
Thanks: 3,071
Thanked 10,440 Times in 5,321 Posts
Default Re: Drain Torque Converter? - No plug NCV3

I think you guys could talk a hind leg off !
This is simple!
If you think the shop hasn't done what you asked for call them!
Example
Ring Ring
Hello Mr Service Writer at Joe Blow Motors
I see from my bill that 3,5 qrts of fluid was charged to my bill /account
Does not 7 qrts fill the transmission after a service procedure?
Now shut up and wait for the answer!


Like
Hello is this Dr Stangedriii's pediatric dentistry?
I see that my son had three filling yesterday and I was charged $500 on my credit card.
Records show that we had two cavities on #4 upper right and #2 lower left .
You also conducted a cavity filling on 3# and a charge was added for dental dentician syndrome ?
Can you explain please.
Again shut up and wait for the answer.


People make mistakes or overlook things--its human nature
Dennis
lindenengineering is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.