Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > T1N Sprinters > T1N Write-Ups

T1N Write-Ups Help other T1N owners by posting your experience working on your Sprinter.


 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2007, 04:53 PM   #11
jdcaples
Not Suitable w/220v Gen
 
jdcaples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seattle, WA - USA
Posts: 9,118
Thanks: 1,309
Thanked 3,623 Times in 1,942 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Filter Change

Excellent documentation, Seek.


From reading a different forum, I'm aware of a tool for a clamp that resembles your factory hose clamps, but I'm not certain they are the same clamps.

The tool is the Hazet 798-2 hose clamp pliers (catalog picture below)

On this Hazet URL there's a demonstration movie.

If such a tool is used, is it possible to preserve the factory clamps?

-Jon
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pliers.JPG (84.9 KB, 2764 views)
jdcaples is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to jdcaples For This Useful Post:
DesertAdventures (10-17-2017), kcshoots (10-30-2019), mattN (01-25-2014), my splinter (04-04-2010), parabolon1 (07-10-2010), scott478 (07-16-2016)
Old 12-17-2007, 06:18 PM   #12
sikwan
06 T1N Can
 
sikwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,716
Thanks: 940
Thanked 1,851 Times in 847 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Filter Change

Great find Jon!

IMHO, I think you can still reuse the clamps even if you don't have the tool. I just remember reading someone else's comment about the clamps are not reuseable. Looking at the video, it looks like the clamps are reuseable and the tool just makes life easier when reassembling it.
sikwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 07:10 PM   #13
tegimr
2003 Pass 140 289000 mile
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 259
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Filter Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaywoodBill View Post
Excellent write up, Seek; perfect for the archives.

Somewhere I read about filling the filter by turning the ignition on but I hesitated to try that in the face of so much verbage telling me to fill it first.
Interesting - my manual says the ignition will prime; however, an excellent Sprinter technician at Ilderton Dodge (met by my mis-adventure with the first fuel filter change) and experience say to prime it. Fill it to be safe. Leave it empty to gain experience (it might work on yours).

Tim
tegimr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 11:47 PM   #14
Aircraft Wrench
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cumberland, WI
Posts: 186
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Filter Change

Sik,

Where are you purchasing your filters? the link "suppliers" leads to "No parts found" ????

TIA
MC
HNY
JB
Aircraft Wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 11:53 PM   #15
sikwan
06 T1N Can
 
sikwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,716
Thanks: 940
Thanked 1,851 Times in 847 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Filter Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aircraft Wrench View Post
Where are you purchasing your filters? the link "suppliers" leads to "No parts found" ????
I bought them as a kit from this guy...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Dodge...spagenameZWDVW

...when I bought it the same kit was $90 shipped.

Or try this...

europarts-sd.com

...they have it .
sikwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 02:15 AM   #16
KL2BE
 
KL2BE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Alaska & West Indies
Posts: 377
Thanks: 40
Thanked 154 Times in 74 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Filter Change

GREAT WRITE-UP
There are better hose clamps around; the kind where the grooves do not penetrate the band. Heavy-duty clamps are available at West Marine stores if you have one nearby.
On the milage issue; clean fuel is the number-one key to a trouble-free diesel engine. BUT, MB parts are extra pricey. I intend to follow standard marine-industry practice and install a RACOR pre-filter (RACOR cartridge replacements cost about $8 and come in 2, 10 and 30 micron). With a 2 micron pre-filter, the MB filter should last 100k easy.
If I do the RACOR install next summer (my Sprinter is put to bed for the winter) I'll post pictures.
KL2BE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 02:29 AM   #17
jdcaples
Not Suitable w/220v Gen
 
jdcaples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seattle, WA - USA
Posts: 9,118
Thanks: 1,309
Thanked 3,623 Times in 1,942 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Filter Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by KL2BE View Post
GREAT WRITE-UP
There are better hose clamps around; the kind where the grooves do not penetrate the band. Heavy-duty clamps are available at West Marine stores if you have one nearby.
On the milage issue; clean fuel is the number-one key to a trouble-free diesel engine. BUT, MB parts are extra pricey. I intend to follow standard marine-industry practice and install a RACOR pre-filter (RACOR cartridge replacements cost about $8 and come in 2, 10 and 30 micron). With a 2 micron pre-filter, the MB filter should last 100k easy.
If I do the RACOR install next summer (my Sprinter is put to bed for the winter) I'll post pictures.

I believe the factory fuel line clamps are called CLIC, or CLIC-R clamps. I've read that MB does not approve any other clamp on their fuel lines, but the reasons seemed to do with operator error - clamp not tight enough to handle the pressure, clamp too tight, weaking the hose - rather than anything else.

Which RACOR filter housing and element are you considering?

-Jon
jdcaples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 02:49 AM   #18
sikwan
06 T1N Can
 
sikwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,716
Thanks: 940
Thanked 1,851 Times in 847 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Filter Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by KL2BE View Post
There are better hose clamps around; the kind where the grooves do not penetrate the band. Heavy-duty clamps are available at West Marine stores if you have one nearby.
It never crossed my mind. I love that place. I have an excuse to go now.
sikwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 03:30 AM   #19
kkanuck
LUV my T1N
 
kkanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 999
Thanks: 291
Thanked 60 Times in 52 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Filter Change

Is the fuel in the center of the filter clean when you take the WIF sensor off the top? If so, you could just dump the fuel from the old filter to the new filter when swapping?
kkanuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 03:37 AM   #20
sikwan
06 T1N Can
 
sikwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,716
Thanks: 940
Thanked 1,851 Times in 847 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Filter Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkanuck View Post
Is the fuel in the center of the filter clean when you take the WIF sensor off the top? If so, you could just dump the fuel from the old filter to the new filter when swapping?
The fuel was clean. I was worried about including the gunky build up that was on the topside of the old filter into the new.

I do plan on cutting the old filter open to see how clean or dirty it is at 20k.
sikwan is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.