Sprinter-Forum

Sprinter-Forum (https://sprinter-source.com/forum/index.php)
-   T1N Talk (https://sprinter-source.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=106)
-   -   Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99 (https://sprinter-source.com/forum/showthread.php?t=65670)

crockej 05-11-2018 12:36 AM

Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99
 
Monitoring the LOAD goauge with my scangauge II on my 2005 sprinter (with 72k miles), it seems to quickly go to 99 under what seems to be minimal pedal pressure. It seems to have good acceleration though it doesn’t feel like the turbo is kicking in like it used to. My mpg has been steady (around 20). While cruising at 60 it seems that the slightest hill or pedal pressure will send the gauge to 99. Plus, starting from a stop, with a light foot, it jumps to 99 easily. I clean the air cleaner regularly but that doesn’t seem to make a difference. Is there anything I should look at or am I just being overly concerned about nothing?

autostaretx 05-11-2018 12:50 AM

Re: Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99
 
Tell your scangauge to also display MAP (manifold absolute pressure).

If it's not going above 17 psi, your turbo isn't working.

--dick

Cheyenne 05-11-2018 10:14 AM

Re: Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99
 
LOAD (pid LOD) is the percentage of AVAILABLE power at that instant.

So if your turbo is not working, as Dick surmises, then your available power will be very low and hence any call for power will quickly use up everything that is available!

Hope that makes sense.

Keith.

Quote from SG11 user manual

"LOD Engine Loading

This is a percentage of the maximum power available currently being generated. In some vehicles it is the maximum available at the present RPM."

https://www.scangauge.com/support/user-manuals/

ECU 05-11-2018 03:02 PM

Re: Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99
 
Also inspect your turbo hoses. If the MAP acts normally, then it is likely that a hose is leaking the pressure.

autostaretx 05-11-2018 03:28 PM

Re: Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99
 
The ScanGauge is most likely reporting PID 04 "calculated load value".
Which was defined by OBD regulations as:
(current airflow / peak airflow @sea level) * (BARO @ sea level / BARO) * 100%
("baro" = barometric pressure)
But:
"Various manufacturers have implemented this calculation in a variety of ways. The following definition, although a little more restrictive, will standardise and improve the accuracy the calculation

LOAD_PCT = [current airflow] / [(peak airflow at WOT@STP as a function of rpm) * (BARO/29.92) * SQRT(298/(AAT+273))]
"
(WOT= wide open throttle, STP = standard temperature and pressure ( 25 °C, 29.92 inches Mercury), SQRT = square root, AAT=Ambient Air Temperature °C)

... for diesels, i've also seen it as a fuel-flow ratio.
---------
There's an "Absolute Load" PID 43, but diesels aren't required to provide that...

--dick
(source: http://obdcon.sourceforge.net/2010/0...ed-load-value/ )

Nuke 05-11-2018 03:29 PM

Re: Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99
 
Hey Dick

Wade Here

How do you tell the scangage to display MAP?
years ago I made a change to show average MPG or Tank of something
and I don't remember how I did it and can't fine that message
I also think it over wrote another display so which one is one we don't need for our diesel sprinter
and how do I determine which one to overwrite?

Thanks
wade

autostaretx 05-11-2018 04:51 PM

Re: Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nuke (Post 652335)
How do you tell the scangage to display MAP?
years ago I made a change to show average MPG or Tank of something
and I don't remember how I did it and can't fine that message
I also think it over wrote another display so which one is one we don't need for our diesel sprinter
and how do I determine which one to overwrite?

When it's doing its normal gauge display, just press the button beside the item you want to change (overwrite).
That will cause that item to cycle to the next (and next and next) item in the list of available displays.
Just keep tapping until you reach MAP

It's that easy as-you're-driving front panel button action that make the ScanGauge my favorite monitor.

--dick

Nuke 05-11-2018 07:21 PM

Re: Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99
 
No Dick, MAP is not one of my available options
on one of my threads years ago I guess the guy from Scangage
gave me instructions on how to add a display to the available list
I think I might have overwritten the MAP not knowing what it was
Later I realized that was one of the ones we'd want
but never figured how to call it back
I know there are some that don't really apply to our sprinters
so I don't know maybe I'll try contacting Scangage and see what they can tell me

How are things in your neck of the woods?
I have to say I miss it abit
That 1 year military tour was really great
never been in that part of the country
and loved the hunting and fishing
Plus that is where I found my Sprinter
and met you
Best to you and your lovely wife
Wade & Kim

autostaretx 05-11-2018 08:27 PM

Re: Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99
 
So i'd call ScanGAuge back up and ask for the "formula" (numbers to key in) for MAP.

There's at least one "gasoline ignition"-related choice that's disposable for a Sprinter.
(looks in manual) yeah... "IGN" ... ignition timing.

Yes, i enjoyed our forum chats and the actual physical meeting
have fun
--dick

crockej 05-12-2018 01:16 AM

Re: Scangauge LOAD easily goes to 99
 
So my MAP shows 14.9 at idle and up to 34 when I floor it. So I guess the turbo is working. Decided to check the egr valve...Having a heck of a time getting it out. Removed 3 screws (one broke off! Will deal with that later). Pounded with hammer, sprayed with WD40, pounded some more, sprayed with liquid wrench, pounded some more. No luck. Letting it soak over night and will get back to pounding some more tomorrow.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.