Sprinter-Forum

Sprinter-Forum (https://sprinter-source.com/forum/index.php)
-   Sprinter Westfalia (https://sprinter-source.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=68)
-   -   Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window? (https://sprinter-source.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31324)

ecobon 02-15-2014 03:13 AM

Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?
 
I am unsure if my remote control is working--the batteries are fine and I checked to make sure that the polarity was correct as per markings on the inside of the remote.

If I cannot get the remote operational, how can I operate the window? Would a universal remote work if it was programmed by another Westy owner?

Thanks!

OrioN 02-15-2014 03:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ecobon (Post 284645)
I am unsure if my remote control is working--the batteries are fine and I checked to make sure that the polarity was correct as per markings on the inside of the remote.

If I cannot get the remote operational, how can I operate the window? Would a universal remote work if it was programmed by another Westy owner?

Thanks!

Have you checked the fuse for window?

Sent from my GT-I9100M using Tapatalk

Old Crows 02-15-2014 04:00 PM

Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?
 
As a Master of the Obvious..... The Crow asks ...... "Ya really sure ya got the batteries inserted the right way!" Eh!?

Is the sky light locked? Jammed? Frozen shut?

discus 02-17-2014 12:37 PM

I will test the universal remote and let you know.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

grozier 02-17-2014 01:00 PM

Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?
 
A good tip seen earlier on this or the Yahoo board for testing remotes is to point it at a smartphone or digital camera and film it while pressing buttons.

For IR devices like these, the camera can see the light. For RF devices, it will not work.

There are instructions in the Westfalia supplement on how to use the emergency crank if needed.

Ted

discus 02-17-2014 04:59 PM

Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?
 
I tried programming my Harmony 880 remote and it does accept the code but for some reason, the unit freezes on the down button. A single tap on the up button works fine and the skylight goes all the way up. I have to experiment some more later and also try a more conventional learning remote.

onemanvan 02-18-2014 03:26 PM

Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?
 
1 Attachment(s)
On the Yahoo forum a member attempted to reprogram a remote. He had the same problem with the down function. Apparently there is no work around for this issue. Some decided to install a manual switch. One of them contributed a detailed document describing the procedure. I attempted to attach it to this msg. In case that doesn't work here is a link:

https://f1.grp.yahoofs.com/v2/1HoDU0...2Brecovery.pdf

discus 02-19-2014 10:32 AM

The harmony remote issues a one second signal. So it does not work for the down button. The raw learn can handle long sequences, I was planning on Using buttons 1 to 9 to program a series of down button events of varying lengths with 9 long enough to close it completely. I will try that. I have also emailed harmony about making the down button work more like volume buttons but no response yet.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

skydiver007 02-19-2014 01:06 PM

Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?
 
I program thousands of remotes. Here is what you do. Create a device in the harmony remote and simply learn the down button to the volume button which is a constant out while you hold it down. That should do it.

You could also get a simple universal remote at Walmart for $8 that has learning capability and simply learn the down to the volume button.

discus 02-19-2014 02:23 PM

Re: Remote Control Damaged - How to Open Sky Light Window?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by skydiver007 (Post 285523)
I program thousands of remotes. Here is what you do. Create a device in the harmony remote and simply learn the down button to the volume button which is a constant out while you hold it down. That should do it.

You could also get a simple universal remote at Walmart for $8 that has learning capability and simply learn the down to the volume button.

I guess I haven't tried that. I did try using an old SIMA SUR-20 remote and it works just fine.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.