Sprinter-Forum

Sprinter-Forum (https://sprinter-source.com/forum/index.php)
-   T1N Talk (https://sprinter-source.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=106)
-   -   CA Smog EGR NOT READY (https://sprinter-source.com/forum/showthread.php?t=46168)

Akatdog 03-22-2016 05:51 PM

CA Smog EGR NOT READY
 
So I'm caught in the CA smog debacle with my 06 3500 where EGR monitor refuses to reset. I've been through Dodge Corp (Referred me to their test house) and Mercedes Corp (less than helpful on all fronts).


I ran across this today which somewhat confirms my suspicions that due to starting values the test cycle is not being entered.

Does anyone in the Bay Area/Central Valley Have access to an SDS with DAS to test this? My registration is due next month but would rather not spend $700 on GDE.

Basically they found that 5 values are not being written in the code to let the EGR test cycle begin. By manually entering values the cycle can then begin.

See the video there pertinent values are shown around the 7:30 mark

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKiLDZQAGHE

seans 03-22-2016 07:53 PM

Re: CA Smog EGR NOT READY
 
I hope that video is never pulled from YouTube. Can someone with an SDS capture and write up this procedure so that it can be provided to any mechanic with an SDS?

Akatdog 03-22-2016 08:31 PM

Re: CA Smog EGR NOT READY
 
Yeah I took a screenshot of the 5 menus that need to be updated just in case. I just need to find someone with an SDS DAS that can access the menu to try it.

MobileCC 03-27-2016 10:02 PM

CA Smog EGR NOT READY
 
Contact me I can do this fix for the EGR monitor to set with my version of DAS finally
after wasting several hrs trying to get that monitor to set


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MobileCC 03-28-2016 04:14 PM

You set these 5 parameters to .00187 and complete 2 warm up cycles


http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...e4f2ffa84d.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...5857d398ec.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...334ab25329.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...c37e278827.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...c417c1082d.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...6f3a7acfec.jpg



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

hayduke 03-28-2016 10:31 PM

Re: CA Smog EGR NOT READY
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by seans (Post 444454)
I hope that video is never pulled from YouTube. Can someone with an SDS capture and write up this procedure so that it can be provided to any mechanic with an SDS?

You can download any internet video to your hard drive and keep it with several different browser extension choices

Preston 03-29-2016 12:57 AM

Re: CA Smog EGR NOT READY
 
I had the same issues and was told by my local State referee that the software used by the smog check people was updated last month and the EGR monitor issue is no longer an issue. I got my 2004 118" smoked and finally registered last week! Take it in now, it should pass!

Mill Valley

MobileCC 03-29-2016 03:55 AM

I had a customer just yesterday that got failed on egr monitor ..maybe your egr monitor had the required warm up cycles to pass ..I personally think there is something wrong with the o2 sensor that's causing these sprinters not to pass


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Akatdog 04-04-2016 06:24 PM

Re: CA Smog EGR NOT READY
 
My wild ass guess was that the water temp senor and air temp sensor are drifting over time and aren't in sync at startup and the variable is set too tight in the software but this is totally a guess and haven't had the equipment to test.

Ben I may be contacting you shortly. I'm scheduled to rent an SDS this week locally I'm in Santa Cruz/Milpitas area but I am trying to confirm whether or not they have access to the actuations menu needed.

Akatdog 04-05-2016 01:58 PM

Re: CA Smog EGR NOT READY
 
So I rented an SDS unit last night but unfortunately it would not come up with the development menu shown to manually enter these values.

I did however try to exercise the EGR through the diagnostic routine where it goes through the engine rev cycle etc then manually tried to open and close the EGR valve through the DAS and there was virtually no change to the readout whether the valve was supposedly open or closed.

I'm thinking that maybe my valve is clogged or broken but shouldn't there we some sort of code or check engine light if this is the case?


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.