My first code

Chandlerazman

I have an appt with the Dodge dealer in the morning. Hopefully they can take care of it. Otherwise the van runs fine with no driveability issues.

Chandlerazman

The cel light went out today as I was preparing to turn it in for service. I drove for about 100 miles and no issues. Interesting vans! Dealer said there was nothing they could do unless the engine light was still on. It took about 6 keystarts to clear whatever was bugging it.

Dealer said there was nothing they could do unless the engine light was still on.

I'm no expert, but unless the code(s) is reset using a scan tool of some sort, the codes are still stored in the ECM Engine Control Module and should be readable by the dealer DRBIII scan tool. Every dealer service writer should know that.

I don't know what dealer policy is, but I would think that under warranty they would at least connect the DRBIII up to check based upon a customer reporting that the CEL Check Engine Light (AKA MIL Malfunction Indicator Light) was on. I could be wrong. Do they think you'd lie to them about the light having been on??? FWIW. AP/vic

Chandlerazman

We are talking about the same dealer that says my rsn issue is normal... I'm sure they could scan it for me (I didn't clear the stored code) but they would need the van for a day :rolleyes:

jdcaples

Not Suitable w/220v Gen
I'm no expert, but unless the code(s) is reset using a scan tool of some sort, the codes are still stored in the ECM Engine Control Module and should be readable by the dealer DRBIII scan tool. Every dealer service writer should know that.

I don't know what dealer policy is, but I would think that under warranty they would at least connect the DRBIII up to check based upon a customer reporting that the CEL Check Engine Light (AKA MIL Malfunction Indicator Light) was on. I could be wrong. Do they think you'd lie to them about the light having been on??? FWIW. AP/vic