Idle info on 2007 diesel

Hump1

this is my first time posting a message and possibly doing all wrong so please bear with me. I have a 2007 Sprinter diesel used in expediting. Not being able to afford other options, am attempting to just let engine idle to either stay warm or cold, depending on season. All reports state iding will do damage to engine and filters but an option available on purchase is high idle. If a person just uses a throttle stick, what rpm is needed to keep from doing damage to vehicle. I called 2 dealers today and neither knows. thanks for all help.

jdcaples

Not Suitable w/220v Gen
I idle a lot more than recommended. It's not a problem, though many, many, many people disagree.

The most important thing to do is not borrow trouble from the future; just do what you do until there's a problem that you can actually fix.

Having said that:

The main worry amongst Sprinter owners is soot build up from low temp combustion. I think that's hog wash.

The main worry amongst general, mainstream, American diesel enthusiasts is that the oil doesn't get everywhere it needs to and it rubs cylinder walls and rings raw. I think that's hog wash too.

Here's the guidance from Sprinter-Source owners:

1200 rpm is "high-idle," use a decent, engine oil spec'd at MB229.51 and use fresh fuel from a high-turnover diesel provider like a truck stop or a commercial fuel supplier. You can use an additive if you want... to promote better combustion, boost your cetane using Redline Oil RL2 or something else marketed as a cetane booster.

Finally, don't skimp on regular maintenance.... change your fluids and your filters at the recommended interval and don't let anything get in your way.

-Jon

shanemac