PDA

View Full Version : Confusion on code P2199

Mjmcginl
10-09-2009, 02:46 AM
Newbie here--I've been lurking and reading this forum for some time now and finally have something to post about! My husband and I are out in our '06 Sprinter for 3 weeks (we're a band gradually converting it little bit by little bit when we're home from tour) and our check engine light came on. The code that read out was P2199 and when I researched it on here I came up with two different interpretations: IAT corellation 1/2 and Fuel Quantity Solenator Short to Ground. The van seems to be running fine (mostly highway driving) and getting good fuel mileage.

Which part should we assume is causing the P2199 error, the IAT sensor (in the air system) or the Fuel Quantity Control Valve on the High Pressure Pump assembly? They seem so unrelated that I can't imagine that code is an indicator of both.
One more clue is that when borrowing the universal reader from Advanced Auto, it read out the IAT correlation 1/2 with the code number- not sure if the reader knew it was a Sprinter, perhaps the codes mean something different on Sprinters than other vehicles (our auto of choice IS rather special, isn't it?). :)
Thanks so much for any guidance!
Melissa

autostaretx
10-09-2009, 03:22 AM
In my three failures of my 2005's IAT sensor (and three different part numbers as replacements, as MB kept trying to correct the supplier's part), the P2199 was the code. (the first was 300 miles into ownership)

With a ScanGauge (www.scangauge.com) you can -read- the IAT's report... and mine was reading over 100F higher than the ambient air temperature the 3rd time (check engine light, but no effect upon driving).

..i'd change the IAT... it's quick, cheap and easy... (at worst, you'll have a spare)

--dick

rvdriverca
10-09-2009, 03:23 AM