Heat stuck on, intermittent turn signals, overheating up hills

rw080761

Hello all!
Im a novice so please bare with me and the following descriptions of my current issues with my 2005 sprinter van 2500.

All the buttons and knobs/rotational knobs seem to be stripped leading the heat to always be on. Seems like my options are to pull the dash apart and plop a new unit in? Or maybe attempt to just replace the knobs/buttons? Curious on other peoples thoughts on this.

Also the van runs mighty close to overheating up these modest Colorado mountains. Ive had to pull off on a few of the longer runs up. At least thats what the dash sensor is telling me. Whats slightly confusing is that same gauge says the van is operating at (a single white block above 110F when im coming down hills (so rather cold?).

How can I test to see if the gauge itself is broken? The vehicle does appear to be leaking coolant but ever so slightly. No entirely sure from where maybe the water pump as it looks a little wet. :thinking:

I've only ever seen the fan in front of the engine on once and that was recently. (technical name escapes me) Ive read that the fan on the very front of the vehicle in front of the radiator is for the ac compressor. If this is true then it would make sense why ive never seen that fan on as the heat is always on. (?)

The intermittent turn signal issues seems to be remedied by tapping (slapping) just under the steering wheel where the fuses are. Ive opened that box up a few times and none of the fuses seem to be loose but hitting that box cover when the signals cuts out as im sitting at lights seems to do the trick nearly everytime.