PDA

View Full Version : new sprinter owner, what's that sound?

cosman2001@mac.com
06-28-2019, 01:32 AM
Just bought a 2005 sprinter with 247K on the odometer and am now prepping it in Atlanta to take back to Oregon. I have driven it 1000 miles already to Atlanta and have some questions since I am new to the sprinter.

* Why does it stay in the gear for so long? Seems like I have to use the manual shift too much.
* Why does going uphill suck. Is there a boost leak? Is there a boost pressure gauge?
* What is that whining sound when I go under 20?
* What is the rotational chirping sound on right front wheel?
* Who designed these freaking locks? I decoded the locking clicks to mean:
* 1 mechanism click for already locked mode
* 2 mechanism clicks for it is unlocked mode
* 3 mechanism clicks for it wasn't locked so I locked it mode
* Note: remote button has nothing to do with above.
* How do I get cruise control installed?
* What kinds of seats can I put in here? Can I install from any vehicle?

Anything I should carry for my 3000 mile journey back to Oregon? Heading up the Highway 90 route to see the sites and graze with the buffalo.

NelsonSprinter
06-28-2019, 02:03 AM
It stays in gear so long because of the previous owner's driving style taught the Trans Control Module to change gears that way. You can re-teach it with a scanner learn-in process probably.

Going uphill would only suck if there is a turbo leak producing black smoke, or if the transmission isn't gearing down on steep climbs, or most injectors are worn.
Whining sound may be a worn driveshaft support bearing or dry differential gear
If the locks are not working as click on, click off, then a door closed sensor may have corroded contacts. It's telling you that it thinks a door isn't closed and hence your vehicle may not be secure with a door open/unlocked

Nautamaran
06-28-2019, 05:25 AM