Looking for guidance / opinions before purchasing a 2006 Sprinter in Bay Area.

NewtoSprinters

Hello all,

I'm new to the sprinter world but have done a lot of research on this forum and the internet in general.

I've found a 2006 Sprinter locally from someone I do business with. It has 98,000 miles on it. They are asking a fair price for it.

I live in the Bay Area and have made an appointment for Collie Auto-works in San Rafael to take a look at it this upcoming week.

A few questions I have:

1.There is some major rust on near / around the windshield. How much of a burden is this? I'm attaching some pictures. Does anyone specifically have experience getting this scraped/repaired/painted?

https://imgur.com/a/ptOLRU5

2. Does anyone have experience having a tall roof 148'' Sprinter painted in or around the bay area / California? If so any recommendations? Aprox cost? I've seen lots of threads about painting it myself and that's an option as well but I wanted to research the alternative as well.

3. The owner told me he once accidentally put regular gasoline in it and drove it for a mile, then called a tow and got Mercedes to take care of it. It doesn't seem to have any issues, but wanted to know from anyone with lots of experience if that can cause problems way down the road? I'll also ask the mechanic this upcoming week.

4. The owner said they added a filter to allow it to have Biodiesel put into it, I'm unsure if they've ever actually ran biodiesel in it. But if they didn't is just the filter something I should look out for? Any hesitations with that? He didn't sound too confident that he knew anything about the specifics just said that it was no capable of taking Biodiesel. Also if they did use biodiesel a little bit does anyone know anything about how that can impact long term longevity? It sounds like they barely used it if at all.